Books and Authors

The Latest Booklist: Spotlight on Diverse Books

The Latest Booklist: Spotlight on Diverse Books

Sure, it’s still January 23, but here at Booklist, we’re giving February a head start! Our February 1 issue, featuring a Spotlight on Diverse Books—a perennial favorite—is now live. In it, you’ll find three new top 10s: Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction for Adults, Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction for Youth, and Top 10 Diverse Fiction for Youth. […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Nine Read-Alikes for HEARTLAND, a Memoir by Sarah Smarsh
By January 23, 2019 0 Comments Read More →

Nine Read-Alikes for HEARTLAND, a Memoir by Sarah Smarsh

As a journalist, Sarah Smarsh, a “fifth-generation Kansas farm kid,” has reported on class, rural America, and economic inequality. In her memoir, Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth, the first nonfiction SJP pick, Smarsh recalls her 1980s Midwestern upbringing and relays the stories of the family who […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
2019 Edgar Nominees Announced

2019 Edgar Nominees Announced

This morning, Mystery Writers of America announced the nominees for the 2019 Edgar Allan Poe Awards. Here at Booklist, we take pride in our year-round coverage of the mystery genre, culminating in our Mystery Showcase issue and Mystery Month celebration in May. (That’s also when we announce our own list of the year’s best crime novels.) […]

2018 National Book Critics Circle Awards Finalists Announced

2018 National Book Critics Circle Awards Finalists Announced

This morning, the National Book Critics Circle announced this year’s finalists in all categories, as well as the winners of the John Leonard Prize for first books (Tommy Orange, There There), the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award (Arte Público Press), and the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing (Maureen Corrigan). Here’s the complete list of the […]

YA That Slays: A Buffy-Inspired Batch of Kick-Butt Books

YA That Slays: A Buffy-Inspired Batch of Kick-Butt Books

Over 20 years after the premiere of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, there is a new entry in the Buffyverse: Kiersten White’s Slayer, which hit shelves on January 8. White’s latest YA novel follows Nina and her twin sister, Artemis. Both have been raised at the Watchers Academy, an organization responsible for protecting Slayer lore, demon knowledge, and […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Best New Books: Week of January 22, 2019
By January 22, 2019 0 Comments Read More →

Best New Books: Week of January 22, 2019

The following books, published this week, received starred reviews in Booklist. Want to read our starred reviews before the books go on sale? Subscribe to Booklist!   Adult Fiction  The Golden Tresses of the Dead, by Alan Bradley  The Kingdom of Copper, by S. A. Chakraborty   Adult Nonfiction  The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee: Native America from 1890 to […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Reviews of the Week with Jill Abramson, Eric Idle, Robin LaFevers, and More!

Reviews of the Week with Jill Abramson, Eric Idle, Robin LaFevers, and More!

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or in high demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. Prepare for a timely assessment of the rewards and perils of being a journalist; an exciting return to a very popular YA world; the lovely singing voice of […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Booklist Goes to Midwinter
By January 18, 2019 0 Comments Read More →

Booklist Goes to Midwinter

Hey, Midwinter attendees! In one short week, we here at Booklist will be heading to Seattle for ALA’s Midwinter Meeting. Catch us at booth #815, where you can score Booklist buttons, Book Club Central pins, sweet temporary tattoos, and tiny chocolate versions of this year’s Carnegie shortlist titles. We’ll also be hosting flash giveaways all weekend long; two times a day, […]

Librarians Unite! 12 Tales of Librarian Badassery
By January 17, 2019 0 Comments Read More →

Librarians Unite! 12 Tales of Librarian Badassery

In just over a week, Seattle’s population will temporarily expand with tens of thousands of librarians (and other literary obsessives). Talk about a convergence of brains, guts, dedication, faith—and unconditional love of knowledge! Because that’s what it takes to be a librarian in today’s rapidly changing, globally interlinked, evermore technological, brave new world. Books, in […]

February LibraryReads in Print and on Audio

February LibraryReads in Print and on Audio

LibraryReads has announced its February 2019 selections! Check out the titles chosen by librarians below, linked to their Booklist reviews when available. For those of you who prefer to listen rather than read, we’ve hunted down the producers of the audio versions and have provided ordering information, when available. Please note that we have not yet had time […]

Posted in: Books and Authors