Author Archive: Maggie Reagan

Maggie Reagan works for Booklist as an associate editor in the Books for Youth department. In addition to the required love of reading, she is also an adventure junkie, animal hugger, and stringed-instrument enthusiast. Follow her on Twitter @MagdalenaRayGun.

rss feed Twitter

Author's Website →

Writing Fantasy in a Post-Harry Potter World: Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On
By November 17, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

Writing Fantasy in a Post-Harry Potter World: Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On

I know there are people who don’t believe in coincidences. I wouldn’t say that I’m one of them, but it was with no small measure of suspicion that I regarded the confluence of events this past October 6th. At a glance, it was just the first Tuesday in October, nothing special. Except two books were publishing […]

Do You Want to Build an Abominable Snowman? Picture Books about Yetis Are a Cool Trend
By November 11, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

Do You Want to Build an Abominable Snowman? Picture Books about Yetis Are a Cool Trend

In terms of reputation, they’ve always been a little on the outskirts. They lack the notoriety of Bigfoot, the oddness of the chupacabra, the coyness of Nessie. But for whatever reason, this elusive cryptid has experienced a recent surge in popularity—especially when illustrated as a snuggly winter friend. Below, find a collection of picture books […]

By November 5, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

There Is No Outside: A Wrenching, Redemptive Film Adaptation of Emma Donoghue’s Room

In many ways, the verdict is already in. This film-festival darling boasts a 95% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes, with much of that praise heaped upon its two leads (Brie Larson as Ma, and Jacob Tremblay as five-year-old Jack), both of whom have already garnered some Academy buzz—and that’s all before the wide release tomorrow, […]

Most Girls Are a Lot like Me: Jennifer Donnelly’s These Shallow Graves
By October 27, 2015 1 Comments Read More →

Most Girls Are a Lot like Me: Jennifer Donnelly’s These Shallow Graves

A historical novel that looks at a teen who wants to follow the news without becoming the news. Reporter Eddie says to newspaper heiress Jo Montfort, “You’re a very unusual girl,” and in some ways it’s true: rich and accomplished young women in 1890s Manhattan aren’t supposed to have aspirations beyond a good marriage. But Jo, clever and […]

Book Trailer Thursday: A Book of Spirits and Thieves

This simple trailer for Morgan Rhodes’s recently released A Book of Spirits and Thieves (Razorbill) whittles the “effectively twisted plot” of its source material down to the bare essentials: a girl in a bookstore opens a book, and is instantly transported elsewhere in a flash of light. Both the crescendoing voice-over and energetic score lend themselves well to the small […]

Stories within Stories: 8 Intriguing Nested Narratives

Stories within Stories: 8 Intriguing Nested Narratives

All right, all right, I’ll cop to it: I didn’t learn how to read until I was eight. In my defense, I had a good reason—or as good a reason as anyone can have for that kind of stubbornness—and it was that my parents read to me. There were the requisite picture-book years of course, […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Summer Reading: Is Rereading, Is Rereading…

Summer Reading: Is Rereading, Is Rereading…

To help you prepare for the outdoor reading season, each week we’re sharing a list from different Booklist editors and staff. —Ed.) My family spends much of each summer on beaches in Michigan, and I’m sorry to say that, as a kid, I thought beaches were the most boring places in existence (I hadn’t taken chemistry yet). So what […]

Dancing in the Dark: Recent YA Ballet Books

Dancing in the Dark: Recent YA Ballet Books

A year and a half ago, we collected a list of gritty teen dance narratives in “Read-alikes: First Position.” That trend is still going strong, as evidenced by two new reviews in the April 1 issue of Booklist (The Walls around Us, by Nova Ren Suma, and Tiny Pretty Things, by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton). The following […]

Posted in: Book Lists, Young Adult
Revisiting Wainscott: Twenty-One Years of Tor Seidler's The Wainscott Weasel

Revisiting Wainscott: Twenty-One Years of Tor Seidler's The Wainscott Weasel

The Wainscott Weasel, by Tor Seidler, originally published in 1993 and newly reissued by Simon & Schuster’s Atheneum imprint, is one of those rare stories that remains as unequivocally magical now as it felt when I first heard it at the ripe old age of four. Stuffed full of whimsy, attitude, and sparkling inventiveness, this fairy tale about […]