Author Archive: Ilene Cooper

Ilene Cooper spends most of her day looking at, assigning, and reviewing (some) of the 7,000 children's books that are published each year in her role as contributing editor at Booklist. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Ilene.

rss feed

Author's Website →

Pat Scales Receives the ALSC Distinguished Service Award
By January 19, 2016 0 Comments Read More →

Pat Scales Receives the ALSC Distinguished Service Award

An award that recognizes a truly stellar career is always good news, and it’s even better news when that award goes to one of your own. Pat Scales, the recipient of the ALSC Distinguished Service Award, more than qualifies on both counts. Among those in the library field, especially in the youth sector, Pat is […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
A Hillary for All Seasons: Four Children’s Books about the Woman Who Would Be President

A Hillary for All Seasons: Four Children’s Books about the Woman Who Would Be President

With the 2016 election only a year off, the current Democrat frontrunners are Hillary, Hillary, and Hillary—at least in the number of children’s books about her. Over the summer, a reporter e-mailed to ask about Hillary Clinton books aimed at kids for an article she was writing. I replied that almost all of the titles […]

“This Is the World I Want to Live In”: A Comforting Poem for a Troubled Time
By November 17, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

“This Is the World I Want to Live In”: A Comforting Poem for a Troubled Time

This was sent to me by a friend at midnight last night.  I had—finally—turned off the news of the day, and was checking email one more time. Why not? I knew it would be hard to sleep anyway. I thought it was a contemporary blog post by one of my favorite authors. I learned today […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Nine Read-alikes for To Kill a Mockingbird

Nine Read-alikes for To Kill a Mockingbird

With July just around the corner—well, maybe a corner and then another corner—the publishing date of Harper Lee’s Go Set a Watchman is drawing closer. As Bill Ott wrote in the Booklist Reader back in February, news that was initially greeted with giddy anticipation took a darker turn when questions began to arise about the manuscript’s […]

Summer Reading: At Last!

Summer Reading: At Last!

(To help you prepare for the outdoor reading season, each week we’re sharing a list from a different Booklist editor. —Ed.) For 30 odd years I’ve been putting books on a shelf in my office to read “someday.” Well, someday has arrived. I am cutting my Booklist hours significantly, leaving me at least some time to read what I […]

You’ve Gotta Have Faith: We Need More Children’s Books about Religion and Spirituality
By November 24, 2014 0 Comments Read More →

You’ve Gotta Have Faith: We Need More Children’s Books about Religion and Spirituality

I noticed something as I was preparing the Spotlight on Religion & Spirituality for the November 15, 2014 issue of Booklist. Just as we need more diverse books, we need more books about religion and spirituality as well. There have been some great ones over the years. I think my favorite remains The War of […]

Pseudonymous

Pseudonymous

When I reviewed J. K Rowling’s book, The Casual Vacancy, in September, 2012 for Booklist Online, I noted Rowling said she’d considered publishing the book under a pseudonym. Had she done so, I wrote,  “Rowling probably would have learned what it’s like to be a midlist author—unpublicized, unnoticed, and unhappy.” As everyone knows by now, Rowling did publish a detective […]

So That's What She's Been Up To
By February 23, 2012 0 Comments Read More →

So That's What She's Been Up To

Almost as soon as Harry Potter et. al. took their final ride on the Hogwarts Express in 2007, readers began to speculate what the next big project was for J.K. Rowling. Now we know. She has finished an adult novel, though the publication date is still under wraps. What was disclosed in a press release is that […]

Marshall Cavendish, Meet Amazon
By December 9, 2011 0 Comments Read More →

Marshall Cavendish, Meet Amazon

The children’s book community was taken aback yesterday by the news that Amazon had purchased Marshall Cavendish Children’s Books. People wondered if this meant the end of MC print and what the whole purchase meant for publishing in general. Of course, anything can happen, but Amazon has been publishing  adult books for quite a while now, […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Getting Excited
By September 23, 2011 0 Comments Read More →

Getting Excited

I’ve always said it will be time to quit this job when I don’t feel at least a tingle as a new season’s books starting arriving. Spring 2012, a trickle of books  a few weeks ago, has turned into a steady stream, and everywhere I turn, there’s something new I can’t wait to read. Meg Rosoff is […]