Author Archive: Annie Bostrom

Annie Bostrom is Associate Editor, Adult Books, at Booklist. She is a cat person, but also really likes dogs. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Annie.

rss feed

Books by Booklist Authors: Ada Wolin’s GOLDEN HITS OF THE SHANGRI-LAS

Books by Booklist Authors: Ada Wolin’s GOLDEN HITS OF THE SHANGRI-LAS

Ada Wolin joined Booklist as an editorial assistant last year surrounded by a kind of hush: a recent Booklist intern and graduate of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC), she’d also already written her first book. An energetic kaleidoscope-spin through the Shangri-Las 1966 album, Golden Hits of the Shangri-Las, Wolin’s entry in […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
An Interview with Sarah Smarsh, Author of HEARTLAND
By January 24, 2019 0 Comments Read More →

An Interview with Sarah Smarsh, Author of HEARTLAND

Annie Bostrom, Adult Books Associate Editor at Booklist, recently interviewed Sarah Smarsh about her book Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth​ (2018), the sixth Sarah Jessica Parker Pick for Book Club Central. In Heartland, Smarsh recalls her Kansas youth while compiling her families’ histories and turning a journalist’s eye on socioeconomic inequality in contemporary […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Nine Read-Alikes for HEARTLAND, a Memoir by Sarah Smarsh
By January 23, 2019 0 Comments Read More →

Nine Read-Alikes for HEARTLAND, a Memoir by Sarah Smarsh

As a journalist, Sarah Smarsh, a “fifth-generation Kansas farm kid,” has reported on class, rural America, and economic inequality. In her memoir, Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth, the first nonfiction SJP pick, Smarsh recalls her 1980s Midwestern upbringing and relays the stories of the family who […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
More Crafts! More Gardening! (And Some Decluttering, Too)

More Crafts! More Gardening! (And Some Decluttering, Too)

The current, May 15 issue of Booklist features our perennial (get it?) Spotlight on Crafts & Gardening—but we’re not done! Check out these new reviews of books on crafting, getting organized, and growing plants both indoors and out. And don’t forget to sign up for our upcoming crafts webinar, on Tuesday, June 5 at 1 […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Talking Chicago Food Writing with Matt Kirouac
By October 10, 2017 0 Comments Read More →

Talking Chicago Food Writing with Matt Kirouac

  Is Chicago America’s best food city? We think so. (Check the salad bars of River North for Booklist editors on Mondays, where you can find us paying penance for a weekend of overindulging in delectable local restaurant fare.) Matt Kirouac set out to choose 90 can’t-miss restaurants in a city with more than 7,000. […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Hello, Rachel Khong: Talking with the Former Lucky Peach Editor about Her Debut Novel, GOODBYE, VITAMIN

Hello, Rachel Khong: Talking with the Former Lucky Peach Editor about Her Debut Novel, GOODBYE, VITAMIN

Rachel Khong’s first novel, Goodbye, Vitamin, is a story of regular people dealing with irregular things. It dials down the looming menace of that which we fear the most for ourselves and our loved ones, while underlining just how extraordinary it is to be a person surrounded by other people. Vitamin‘s narrator, Ruth, moves home […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Talking with Barbara Bourland about her Debut Mystery, I’LL EAT WHEN I’M DEAD

Talking with Barbara Bourland about her Debut Mystery, I’LL EAT WHEN I’M DEAD

  Barbara Bourland’s debut mystery, I’ll Eat When I’m Dead (Grand Central), unfolds from the offices of the fictional RAGE Fashion Book, a groundbreakingly ethical magazine. I loved the book’s characters, especially tough, smart fashion editor Cat Ono, its industry-insider mood with just the right amount of froth and gloss (in other words, a lot), and the way […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Talking with Julie Buntin about her Debut Novel, MARLENA

Talking with Julie Buntin about her Debut Novel, MARLENA

Julie Buntin’s debut novel, Marlena, speaks straight to readers from its first line: “Tell me what you can’t forget, and I’ll tell you who you are.” What narrator Cat can’t forget is her yearlong best-friendship, at age 15, with Marlena: a girl her opposite in some ways, but with whom she instantly, deeply bonds. Buntin’s emotionally vivid […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
For Fans of The Night Of: What to Read the Morning After
By November 29, 2016 0 Comments Read More →

For Fans of The Night Of: What to Read the Morning After

In The Night Of, an eight-part series that aired on HBO this past summer, college student Nasir Khan’s innocent but unauthorized borrowing of his dad’s taxicab sets off a series of events that leads to his imprisonment and trial for murder. In the first episode, closed circuit shots of Naz, exiting the Queens tunnel on […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Epistolary Novels, Postcard-style

Epistolary Novels, Postcard-style

The main character in Alice Hoffman’s novel Faithful, out next month, receives encouraging postcards that help her through some seriously dark times. This got me searching for other instances of postcards-as-plot-devices in fiction. Postcards are great. On one side, you have a pleasing photograph, pint-sized fine art print, or splashy vacation scene—and that’s just the […]