Celebrating 20 Years of the Michael L. Printz Award

Printz Quiz

Twenty years ago, Walter Dean Myers’s Monster won the first-ever Michael L. Printz Award. Three runners-up, David Almond’s Skellig, Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, and Ellen Wittlinger’s Hard Love, were dubbed Honor Books. Since then, the Printz Awards, which recognize the “best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit”—and are sponsored by Booklist and presented by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)—have been announced annually at the ALA Midwinter Meeting’s Youth Media Awards.

Today, in honor of this year’s special milestone (20 whole years of Printz) and our proximity to the legendary YMAs (T-minus five days to the special event), we present you with—*drumroll, please*—Printz-themed trivia! Answer these 10 questions to the best of your ability and share your score with @ALA_Booklist and @yalsa on Twitter; participating quiz takers will be entered in a drawing to win a bundle of Printz-winning titles!

Good luck to all, and for more Printz content, from live updates about next Monday’s winners to exclusive interviews, be sure to follow us on social media and/or subscribe to our weekly newsletter, Booklist Reader Update. 👋



About the Author:

Briana Shemroske is Booklist's Marketing Associate. She graduated with a BA from Lake Forest College where she studied English Writing and Art History. In her free time she can be found eating cheeseburgers, frolicking with her schnoodle, Moritz, and feebly attempting to play board games. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Briana.

Post a Comment