2020 Andrew Carnegie Medals Shortlist Announced

And then there were six. That’s right, the shortlist for the ninth annual Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction has been announced. To see which three fiction and three nonfiction titles are still under consideration for the American Library Association’s first single-title medal given to books for adults, check out the video and links below! And join us for the RUSA Book and Media Awards in Philadelphia on Sunday, January 26, to be among the very first to hear about the final two medal winners.


Feast Your Eyesby Myla Goldberg (Scribner)

Lost Children Archive, by Valeria Luiselli (Knopf)

The Water Dancerby Ta-Nehisi Coates (Ballantine/One World)


Figuringby Maria Popova (Pantheon)

The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee: Native America from 1890 to the Presentby David Treuer (Riverhead)

Midnight in Chernobyl: The Untold Story of the World’s Greatest Nuclear Disaster, by Adam Higginbotham (Simon & Schuster)

About the Author:

Briana Shemroske is Booklist's Marketing Associate. She graduated with a BA from Lake Forest College where she studied English Writing and Art History. In her free time she can be found eating cheeseburgers, frolicking with her schnoodle, Moritz, and feebly attempting to play board games. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Briana.

Post a Comment