These Reads Are Also Stars: What to Read after THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR

Natasha is trying to save her family from deportation. Daniel, bogged down by his family’s expectations, is attempting to find himself. Natasha believes in science and facts. Daniel is a poet. Then one moment brings the two together, and in 24 short hours, they learn their worlds, though different, aren’t so separate after all.

The film adaptation of Nicola Yoon’s award-winning YA novel The Sun Is Also a Star hits theaters today, meaning we’ll finally get to meet Natasha and Daniel on the big screen—and see how even the littlest moments can impact the course of our lives. But when our two short hours with Natasha and Daniel are up, and we’re left craving more lyrical love stories, where are we to turn? Below are three surefire starting points.


Somewhere Only We Know, by Maurene Goo

Lucky is a K-pop star about to break into the Western market. Then, in Hong Kong, at the end of her tour, a late-night burger craving throws Lucky into the path of Jack, an undercover gossip reporter. With a nod to “Lucky,” the iconic song by Britney Spears—and a finger on the pulse of the excitement of the global K-pop phenomenon—Somewhere Only We Know offers a buoyant modern take on the classic Roman Holidayesque tale. Like The Sun Is Also a Star, the novel unfolds over the course of a whirlwind 24 hours, introducing protagonists, who, on the brink of adulthood, embark on a variety of adventures, learn more about themselves, and grapple with what may come next.


A Very Large Expanse of Sea, by Tahereh Mafi

Shirin, 16, is just trying to live as an American Muslim teen in the wake of 9/11. She never planned to fall for golden boy Ocean James, who seems to be the only one actually interested in breaking through the emotional walls she’s put up. And she certainly isn’t ready for everyone around them to have so much to say about their relationship. Exploring how cultural differences and the world at large can impact a relationship—and how deeply one person can impact a life, even in a short time period—A Very Large Expanse of Sea is a powerful go-to for fans ofThe Sun Is Also a Star.




What If It’s Us, by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

Ben is at the post office, mailing his ex-boyfriend’s things and avoiding the reality of summer school, when he runs into Arthur, who’s in New York for the summer. Now, amidst first dates (and first date redos), Ben and Arthur must also confront a looming, end-of-summer deadline—and what it could mean for their budding relationship. (Plus, it’s important to note: in addition to their epic NYC meet-cutes, What If It’s Us and The Sun Is Also a Star also share in bringing the joy of private karaoke to YA!)

Comments

comments

About the Author:

Melody’s love of words has taken her on a variety of adventures, beyond the adventures on the page, including librarian, bookseller, literary intern, dramaturg, and script reader. Reading hundreds of books a year, she's constantly seeking that next literary fix.

Post a Comment