2018 Agatha Award Winners

The winners of the Agatha Awards were announced Saturday, May 4th, during the Malice Domestic 31 fan convention in Bethesda, Maryland. Named for Agatha Christie, the grande dame of Golden Age mystery, the awards honor the best books published in the previous calendar year exemplifying the “traditional mystery” genre (e.g. no explicit sex, gore, or violence). Book-length winners are linked to Booklist reviews when available. Not unusual for the Agathas, there were a couple of ties.

Congrats to all the winners! Click here for the full list nominees.

Best Contemporary Novel

Mardi Gras Murder, by Ellen Byron

Best Historical Novel

The Windows of Malabar Hill, by Sujata Massey

Best First Novel (TIE)

Curses Boiled Again, by Shari Randall

A Ladies Guide to Etiquette and Murder, by Dianne Freeman

Best Nonfiction

Mastering Plot Twists, by Jane Cleland

Best Children’s/Young Adult

Potion Problems (Just Add Magic), by Cindy Callaghan


About the Author:

Michael Ruzicka, Office Manager, was raised in suburban Los Angeles, received a BA in Creative Writing/Poetry at UC Santa Cruz, then moved to Birmingham, AL, where he spent five years owning an independent bookstore and earned an MLIS. He has brought his librarian skills to Vanderbilt’s Television News Archive, Battle Ground Academy, The Museum of Contemporary Art-Chicago, and the Chicago School of Professional Psychology. Michael is very excited to be a part of Booklist and call Chicago his home.

Post a Comment