Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi Wins 2019 PEN/Faulkner Award

The PEN/Faulkner Foundation has announced that Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi is the winner of this year’s PEN/Faulkner Award for fiction for her book Call Me Zebra. The annual award honors excellence in American fiction. Oloomi and the four finalists for the award will be recognized at a ceremony and dinner on May 4 in Washington, D.C.

The other four finalists for the award are listed below, with links to Booklist reviews when available. You can read the full announcement (and find more information on both the award and the foundation) at the PEN/Faulkner Foundation’s website.

Tomb of the Unknown Racist, by Blanch McCrary Boyd

The Overstory, by Richard Powers

Love War Stories, by Ivelisse Rodriguez

Don’t Skip Out on Me, by Willy Vlautin



About the Author:

Post a Comment