2019 Dylan Thomas Prize Longlist Announced

Last week, the longlist was announced for the annual Swansea University International Dylan Thomas Prize. The award, named for the Welsh writer and poet, is given to writers under the age of 39 for literary works written in English, in a wide variety of forms: poetry, prose, short story collections, novels, novellas, and screenplays. The shortlist will be announced in April and the winning author will be awarded the £30,000 prize on May 16. The longlist is below, with titles linked to their Booklist reviews when available.


Eye Level, by Jenny Xie

Folk, by Zoe Gilbert

 Friday Black, by Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

Hold, Michael Donkor

House of Stone, by Novuyo Rosa Tshuma

How the Light Gets In, by Clare Fisher

In Our Mad and Furious City, by Guy Gunaratne

 Melmoth, by Sarah Perry

Normal People, Sally Rooney

Soho, by Richard Scott

Peach, by Emma Glass

Trinity, by Louisa Hall



About the Author:

Michael Ruzicka, Office Manager, was raised in suburban Los Angeles, received a BA in Creative Writing/Poetry at UC Santa Cruz, then moved to Birmingham, AL, where he spent five years owning an independent bookstore and earned an MLIS. He has brought his librarian skills to Vanderbilt’s Television News Archive, Battle Ground Academy, The Museum of Contemporary Art-Chicago, and the Chicago School of Professional Psychology. Michael is very excited to be a part of Booklist and call Chicago his home.

Post a Comment