2019 Andrew Carnegie Winners Announced

Last night, the winners for the eighth Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction were announced! The two winners were awarded at the RUSA Book and Media Awards, sponsored by NoveList, in Seattle, WA, during the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting. Congratulations to Rebecca Makkai and Kiese Laymon! Here are the winning titles in fiction and nonfiction with the list of finalists all linked to their Booklist reviews:


Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction

 The Great Believers, by Rebecca Makkai, published by Viking.

Fiction Finalists

 There There, by Tommy Orange, published by Knopf.

 Washington Black, by Esi Edugyan, published by Knopf.


Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction

  Heavy: An American Memoir, by Kiese Laymon, published by Scribner.

Nonfiction Finalists

  Dopesick: Dealers, Doctors, and the Drug Company that Addicted America, by Beth Macy, published by Little, Brown.

  The Line Becomes a River: Dispatches from the Border, by Francisco Cantú, published by Riverhead.


About the Author:

Michael Ruzicka, Office Manager, was raised in suburban Los Angeles, received a BA in Creative Writing/Poetry at UC Santa Cruz, then moved to Birmingham, AL, where he spent five years owning an independent bookstore and earned an MLIS. He has brought his librarian skills to Vanderbilt’s Television News Archive, Battle Ground Academy, The Museum of Contemporary Art-Chicago, and the Chicago School of Professional Psychology. Michael is very excited to be a part of Booklist and call Chicago his home.

Post a Comment