2018 National Jewish Book Awards Announced

The National Jewish Book Awards are North America’s longest-running awards program in the field of Jewish literature. Launched in 1950, they promote the reading of Jewish literature and inspire writers to continue its lasting legacy. Selected winners are listed below, linked to their Booklist reviews when available. The full list of winners and finalists can be found on the Jewish Book Council’s website.


Book of the Year

Hunting the Truth: Memoirs of Beate and Serge Klarsfeld, by Beate and Serge Klarsfeld and translated by Sam Taylor


Autobiography and Memoir

My Country, My Life: Fighting for Israel, Searching for Peace, by Ehud Barak



Witness: Lessons from Elie Wiesel’s Classroom, by Ariel Burger


Book Club Award

The Girl from Berlin, by Ronald H. Balson


Children’s Literature

All Three Stooges, by Erica S. Perl


Debut Fiction

The Book of Dirt, by Bram Presser



The Last Watchman of Old Cairo, by Michael David Lukas



Rise and Kill First: The Secret History of Israel’s Targeted Assassinations, by Ronen Bergman



Anatomy of a Genocide: The Life and Death of a Town Called Buczacz, by Omer Bartov



Holy Moly Carry Me, by Erika Meitner



About the Author:

Michael Ruzicka, Office Manager, was raised in suburban Los Angeles, received a BA in Creative Writing/Poetry at UC Santa Cruz, then moved to Birmingham, AL, where he spent five years owning an independent bookstore and earned an MLIS. He has brought his librarian skills to Vanderbilt’s Television News Archive, Battle Ground Academy, The Museum of Contemporary Art-Chicago, and the Chicago School of Professional Psychology. Michael is very excited to be a part of Booklist and call Chicago his home.

Post a Comment