2019 Andrew Carnegie Medals Shortlist Announced

The shortlist for the eighth Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction has just been announced! Check it out to see which titles are still under consideration for the American Library Association’s only single-title medal given to books for adults. The two medal winners will be announced at the RUSA Book and Media Awards, sponsored by NoveList, in Seattle on Sunday, January 27.



Edugyan, Esi. Washington Black. (Knopf)

Makkai, Rebecca. The Great Believers. (Viking)

Orange, Tommy. There There. (Knopf)




Cantú, Francisco. The Line Becomes a River: Dispatches from the Border. (Riverhead)

Laymon, Kiese. Heavy: An American Memoir. (Scribner)

Macy, Beth. Dopesick: Dealers, Doctors, and the Drug Company that Addicted America. (Little, Brown)

The shortlisted authors and eventual winners reflect the expertise of a seven-member selection committee of library professionals from across the country who work closely with adult readers. The annually appointed selection committee includes a chair (Annie Bostrom 2018–2019), one member of the American Booksellers Association, three Booklist editors or contributors, and three former members of RUSA CODES Notable Books Council. The committee members can be found here.

Annotations and more information on the finalists and the awards can be found here.

About the Author:

Briana Shemroske is Booklist's Marketing Associate. She graduated with a BA from Lake Forest College where she studied English Writing and Art History. In her free time she can be found eating cheeseburgers, frolicking with her schnoodle, Moritz, and feebly attempting to play board games. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Briana.

Post a Comment