Booklist at ALA Annual!

We here at Booklist are headed to the Big Easy for ALA Annual. Catch us at booth #3431, where you can score Booklist buttons, Book Club Central pins and, as ever, some sweet temporary tattoos. The hungry can munch on tiny chocolate versions of this year’s Carnegie shortlist titles. We’ll be giving away the most recent issue of Book Links, our supplemental magazine for educators and librarians, as well as copies of the latest Booklist—our June double issue with a spotlight on biography, an audio showcase, and exclusive Annual-related content, including a list of read-alikes for this year’s Printz winners. For a limited time only, you can purchase an annual subscription to Booklist for just $75 (a 55% savings).

And be sure to check out our great events!


Michael L. Printz Program and Reception
Friday, June 22, 8:00 – 10:00 PM. Location: Hilton Riverside, St. Charles Ballroom

Come listen to the 2018 Michael L. Printz award-winning author Nina LaCour and honor book authors, Jason Reynolds, Laini Taylor, Angie Thomas and Deborah Heiligman speak about their writing, followed by a reception. NEW this year: all authors will give a speech; there will not be a panel discussion.


Auditorium Speaker Series (Moderated by Donna Seaman)
Saturday, June 23, 3:30 4:30 PM. Location: Morial Convention Center, New Orleans Theater B

Sally Field, a two-time Academy Award and three-time Emmy Award-winning actor who has portrayed dozens of iconic roles on screens large and small, will be in conversation about her forthcoming memoir, In Pieces (Grand Central/Hachette), with Donna Seaman, Adult Books Editor, Booklist.


Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction Ceremony and Reception
Saturday, June 23, 8:00 – 10:00 PM. Location: Sheraton New Orleans, Grand Ballroom C

In its seventh year, the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction are celebrated at ALA’s Annual Conference. Join us for this celebratory event with featured speaker Sue Halpern and a chance to mingle with the winning fiction author, Jennifer Egan, during the dessert and drinks reception. This year’s event is sponsored by NoveList.


Booklist’s Read N’ Rave (Moderated by Susan Maguire)
Monday, June 25, 10:30 – 11:30 AM. Location: Morial Convention Center, Room 281-282

Hear collection development specialists Ariel Farrar (New Orleans Public Library), Stephen Sposato (Chicago Public Library), Becky Spratford (RA for All), Kaite Stover (Kansas City Public Library), and Rebecca Vnuk (LibraryReads) rave about their favorite upcoming titles. Moderated by Susan Maguire, Booklist’s Senior Editor, Collection Management and Library Outreach.


2018 Odyssey Award Ceremony
Monday, June 25, 3:30 5:30 PM. Location: Morial Convention Center, Rm 265-268

This annual award is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States. The Hate U Give, written by Angie Thomas and narrated by Bahni Turpin (HarperAudio) has won the 2018 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production. Please stay afterward for a reception sponsored by the Audio Publisher Association.

Book Club Central
Sunday, June 24, 1:00 2:00 PM. Location: Morial Convention Center, Room 395-396

Donna Seaman will moderate a panel that will include Bill Kelly of Cuyahoga County (Ohio) Public Library; James Mustich (bookseller and author of 1,000 Books to Read Before You Die), and Amy Stewart (author, bookseller, and speaker). All will share ideas for promoting Book Club Central and book clubs in libraries.


Signings by Booklist Authors

Sunday, June 24, 1:00 2:00 PM. Location: Penguin Random House Booth #2041

BooklistExecutive Editor Keir Graff will be signing (free galley) copies of his latest middle-grade novel, The Phantom Tower, out this August!


Sunday, June 24, 1:00 2:00 PM. Location: Abrams Booth #3515

Booklist Contributing Editor Ilene Cooper will be signing (free galley) copies of her middle-grade biography, Eleanor Roosevelt, Fighter for Justice, out August 7!



About the Author:

Post a Comment