2018 Edgar Awards Announced

Last night in a New York ceremony, the Mystery Writers of America announced the winners of the 2018 Edgar Awards. To learn what books and movies inspired Jordan Harper’s award-winning first novel, check out what he wrote for us last year. Don’t forget to tune into this year’s Mystery Month, coming in May.

To follow are the winning books, linked to their Booklist reviews. For more information on this year’s Edgar Awards, click here.


Best Novel

Bluebird, Bluebird, by Attica Locke

Best First Novel by and American Author 

She Rides Shotgun, by Jordan Harper


Best Paperback Original 

The Unseeing, by Anna Mazzola


Best Fact Crime

Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI, by David Grann


Best Critical / Biographical

Chester B. Himes: A Biographyby Lawrence P. Jackson


Best Short Story

“Spring Break,” by John Crowley, from New Haven Noir


Best Juvinile

Vanished! by James Ponti


Best Young Adult 

Long Way Down, by Jason Reynolds


Robert L. Fish Memorial Award

“The Queen of Secrets,” by Lisa D. Gray, from New Haven Noir


Mary Higgins Clark Award

The Widow’s House, by Carol Goodman



Posted in: Books and Authors

About the Author:

Eugenia Williamson is the former Associate Editor of Digital Products at Booklist.

Post a Comment