By September 8, 2017 0 Comments Read More →

2017 Dayton Literary Peace Prize Finalists in Fiction and Nonfiction Announced

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize has announced its 2017 finalists in fiction and nonfiction.

Honoring writers who have used their literary talents to create works advocating for peace, social justice and global understanding, this is the only peace prize to be awarded in the United States of America. The works shortlisted in both fiction and nonfiction promote an understanding and tolerance of different cultures, people groups, religions and political points of view, according to their press release.

“At a time of great uncertainty in the world, this year’s finalists reveal how we got to this point and offer powerful lessons on how we can heal, reconcile, and build a better world. Now more than ever, we need to celebrate authors who dare to explore the impact of war, exile, racism, and economic inequality and, more importantly, endeavor to offer hope in these tumultuous times.” Sharon Rab, co-chair of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize Foundation.


Organizers announced in July that the 2017 Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award—named for the U.S diplomat involved in the Dayton Peace Accords negotiations—will be awarded to Colm Tóibín, Irish novelist, journalist and essayist whose work encapsulates the effects of exile and political conflict on the individual.

Below is the full list of finalists for the fiction and nonfiction prizes with links to their Booklist reviews where possible. A winner and runner-up in both categories will be announced on October 3.


The fiction shortlist is:







The nonfiction shortlist is:



About the Author:

Enobong Essien is Booklist's first international intern, coming all the way from across the pond. Her favorite 'procrastinate from studying' activities include: reading, writing, crocheting and taking note of all the ways Americans are different than Brits.

Post a Comment