The Society of Midland Authors Announces Annual Awards

society of midland authorsHey Midwesterners! The Society of Midland Authors announced the winners of its annual awards today, which recognize “the best books by Midwest authors published in 2016.” We offer our hearty, corn-fed congratulations to this year’s winners, who will be honored at an awards dinner on May 9 in Chicago, hosted by Booklist’s own Keir Graff. (Details here.)

The winning and honored titles, linked to their Booklist reviews when possible, are as follows. For more information, click here.


know the mother desiree cooperAdult Fiction


Know the Mother, by Desiree Cooper



Black Deutschland, by Darryl Pinckney

History of Art: Stories, by Margaret Luongo

LaRose, by Louise Erdrich



the defender ethan michaeliAdult Nonfiction


The Defender: How the Legendary Black Newspaper Changed America, by Ethan Michaeli


Excellent Daughters, by Katherine Zoepf

One in a Billion,
by Mark Johnson and Kathleen Gallagher

The South Side,
by Natalie Y. Moore


algren a life mary sisniewskiBiography and Memoir


Algren: A Life, by Mary Wisniewski



My Sister’s Mother, by Donna Solecka Urbikas

Traveling Soul, by Todd Mayfield

Trespassing Across America, by Ken Ilgunas



the forgetting machine pete hautmanChildren’s Fiction


The Forgetting Machine, by Pete Hautman



I Heart You, by Meg Fleming


now you see them now you dont david harrisonChildren’s Nonfiction


Now You See Them, Now You Don’t, by David L. Harrison



Buck O’Neil, by Jeff Gall and Micah Gall

The Slowest Book Ever, by April Pulley Sayre


Polio tyehimba jessoetry


Olio, by Tyehimba Jess



The Old Philosopher, by Vi Khi Nao

The Swimmer, by John Koethe






1 Comment on "The Society of Midland Authors Announces Annual Awards"

Trackback | Comments RSS Feed

Post a Comment