2017 Andrew Carnegie Medals Shortlist Announced

andrew-carnegie-shortlist-2017The shortlist for the fifth Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction has just been announced! Check it out to see which titles are still under consideration for the American Library Association’s only single-title medal given to books for adults. The two medal winners will be announced at the RUSA Book and Media Awards in Atlanta on Sunday, January 22.




Chabon, Michael. Moonglow. (Harper)

Smith, Zadie. Swing Time. (Penguin Press)

Whitehead, Colson. The Underground Railroad. (Doubleday)




Bell-Scott, Patricia. The Firebrand and the First Lady: Pauli Murray, Eleanor Roosevelt, and the Struggle for Social Justice. (Knopf)

Desmond, Matthew. Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City. (Crown)

Phillips, Patrick. Blood at the Root: A Racial Cleansing in America. (Norton)


The shortlisted authors and eventual winners reflect the expertise of a seven-member selection committee of library professionals from across the country who work closely with adult readers. The annually appointed selection committee includes a chair (Donna Seaman 2016–2017), one member of the American Booksellers Association, three Booklist editors or contributors, and three former members of RUSA CODES Notable Books Council. The committee members can be found here.

Annotations and more information on the finalists and the awards can be found here.



About the Author:

Eugenia Williamson is the former Associate Editor of Digital Products at Booklist.

Post a Comment