2015 Agatha Award Winners

The winners of the Agatha Awards were named at last weekend’s Malice Domestic convention. Named for the grande dame of Golden Age mystery (if you can’t guess the last name, you’re clearly not a card-carrying mystery reader), the awards honor the best books published in the previous calendar year exemplifying the “traditional mystery” genre (e.g., no explicit sex, gore, or violence). Winners are linked to Booklist reviews when available. Click here for the full list of this year’s nominees.


Best Contemporary Novel

Long Upon the Land by Margaret Maron

Long Upon the Land, by Margaret Maron


Best Historical Novel

Dreaming Spies by Laurie R King

Dreaming Spies, by Laurie R. King


Best First Novel

On the Road with Del and Louise by Art Taylor

On the Road with Del and Louise, by Art Taylor


Best Nonfiction


The Golden Age of Murder: The Mystery of the Writers Who Invented the Modern Detective Story, by Martin Edwards


Best Short Story

Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine Jan-Feb 2015

A Year Without Santa Claus? [PDF] by Barb Goffman (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine)


Best Children’s/Young Adult

Andi Unstoppable by Amanda Flower

Andi Unstoppable, by Amanda Flower



About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of six books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Phantom Tower (2018). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment