Anthony Doerr and Bryan Stevenson Awarded the 2015 Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

The eagerly awaited announcement of the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction took place last night at the American Library Association’s annual conference in San Francisco. Anthony Doerr, author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel All The Light We Cannot See was awarded the Carnegie medal for fiction, and Bryan Stevenson, author of Just Mercy, was awarded the Carnegie medal for nonfiction. The Carnegie Medals are ALA’s only single-book award for adult trade fiction and nonfiction, cosponsored by Booklist and RUSA. For more information about the awards and selection committee, visit

Available today are two sneak peaks of our July issue—exclusive Booklist interviews with the winners. Read Doerr and Stevenson reflect on their award-winning titles, the writing process, and the importance of reading.

The Booklist Carnegie Medal Interview: Anthony Doerr

“History is about studying how, when, and where large numbers of human beings fell under the spell of various myths. But storytelling is about watching individuals operate inside those historical narratives. I can’t speak for everyone, but in my case, I’m drawn to reading fully imagined fictions—whenever I can—because I want to watch individuals move under those greater forces, whether they’re aware of them or not.”

>>read more

Anthony Doerr - All The Light

The Booklist Carnegie Medal Interview: Bryan Stevenson

“Although we were poor, my mother believed deeply in the power of a book. Her grandfather was born into slavery but learned to read while enslaved at great risk. He taught my grandmother that reading was a great weapon to battle forces that might destroy you. . . . Reading became a powerfully endorsed and affirmed act in our house.”

>>read more

Bryan Stevenson - Just Mercy




About the Author:

Sarah Grant is the Marketing Associate for Booklist. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Grant.

Post a Comment