2014 Agatha Award Winners

Mystery Month 2015Over the weekend, the people at the Malice Domestic Convention announced the winners of the Agatha Awards. Named after Agatha Christie, the awards honor titles published in the calendar year that best exemplify the “traditional mystery” genre, meaning no explicit sex, gore, or violence. The winners are listed below, linked to Booklist reviews when available. The full list of this year’s nominees can be found here.

Best Contemporary Novel

Truth Be Told, by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Best Historical Novel

Queen of Hearts, by Rhys Bowen

Best First Novel

Well Read, Then Dead, by Terrie Farley Moran

Best Nonfiction

Writes of Passage: Adventures on the Writer’s Journey, edited by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Best Short Story

The Odds are Against Us,” by Art Taylor [Linked to PDF of short story]

Best Children’s/Young Adult Novel

The Code Buster’s Club, Case #4: The Mummy’s Curse, by Penny Warner2015_mystery-hashtag




About the Author:

Monica Bertz served as a Booklist's intern in spring of 2015. She holds a bachelor's degree in English Literature from George Washington University. Besides reading, she enjoys binge-watching historical dramas and arguing with strangers about hockey over the internet.

Post a Comment