More Recent Posts

Reviews of the Week: Drew Daywalt, R. J. Palacio, Diana Nyad, and More

Reviews of the Week: Drew Daywalt, R. J. Palacio, Diana Nyad, and More

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from August 24–28 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, August 24 The Day the Crayons Came […]

By August 28, 2015 0 Comments Read More →
The Vietnam War in Prose and Poetry

The Vietnam War in Prose and Poetry

Lynn: I graduated from college in 1970, so the Vietnam War and all the issues related to the conflict dominated the my late teens and twenties. It is only recently that books about this era are more prevalent for young readers, but I will admit to having had absolutely no interest in reading anything about […]

Book Trailer Thursday: The Story of Diva and Flea

Book Trailer Thursday: The Story of Diva and Flea

If you, like many, can’t wait for the October release of the Mo Willems and Tony DiTerlizzi collaboration, The Story of Diva and Flea (Disney), here’s something to tide you over. For nine minutes, while they sit in a Northampton, Massachusetts bistrot, hear the two discuss their four-legged main characters, Parisian inspiration, and the hunt for […]

Dark, Dark Read-alikes for “In a Dark, Dark Wood”

Dark, Dark Read-alikes for “In a Dark, Dark Wood”

I don’t know why we still read books that make us want to leave the lights on at night, lock all our doors, and interrogate our significant others about whether or not they’re really impostors living out a decades-long charade to make us slowly lose our minds—but the best-seller list doesn’t lie. The latest book […]

The Latest Booklist: Spotlight on Sports

The Latest Booklist: Spotlight on Sports

The September 1 issue of Booklist magazine is now live. Visit Booklist Online, where you’ll find 300 new reviews and 9 new feature articles and lists. The articles will be free to all for the next two weeks—to have unrestricted access, you’ll need to log in. If you aren’t yet a subscriber, or do subscribe but haven’t […]

By August 26, 2015 0 Comments Read More →
George, by Alex Gino: An Introduction to Young Transgender Life

George, by Alex Gino: An Introduction to Young Transgender Life

Cindy: I was in the middle of reading George (2015), by Alex Gino, when a rising sixth-grader visited my house. She saw the book on my table and exclaimed, “Oh, I love that book. It is sooooo good.” So I solicited a written review from Rachael King, daughter of Kalamazoo Public Library’s Kevin King, to […]