More Recent Posts

Book Trailer Thursday: Home

Book Trailer Thursday: Home

Carson Ellis’ picture-book debut, Home (Candlewick), showcases many types of homes for all kinds of creatures. In her starred review, Ilene Cooper calls out Ellis’ fanciful details that will keep kiddos returning for second and third peeks at pages. This author-interview style trailer features Ellis’ charming home, workspace, and shelves of books, all of which […]

Summer Reading: To All the Books I’ve Loved Before

Summer Reading: To All the Books I’ve Loved Before

(To help you prepare for the outdoor reading season, each week we’re sharing a list from a different Booklist editor. —Ed.) One of the trickiest issues for all of us who share books in the library is how to promote our favorites. We know we can’t simply hand them out to everyone who asks for suggestions, […]

What’s with the Underwear in Picture Books?

What’s with the Underwear in Picture Books?

Lynn: So what’s with the underwear in picture books recently? Last year saw the publication of Veggies with Wedgies (2014), by Todd H. Doodler, and this year brings even more. Duh—why am I even ASKING that question? Underwear makes kids giggle, that’s why. The good news is that we have not one, but two, really fun picture […]

Webcomics Wednesday: Evan Dahm’s Vattu

Webcomics Wednesday: Evan Dahm’s Vattu

Sometimes there’s nothing better than a purely engrossing epic fantasy, and Evan Dahm’s Vattu fits that bill. In the grassy expanse along a river, Dahm introduces the title character, Vattu, a young girl from a nomadic tribe who gets caught up in a dangerous game of imperial politics, religion, and revolution. Everything about Vattu’s birth is inauspicious—she’s born late […]

Dancing in the Dark: Recent YA Ballet Books

Dancing in the Dark: Recent YA Ballet Books

A year and a half ago, we collected a list of gritty teen dance narratives in “Read-alikes: First Position.” That trend is still going strong, as evidenced by two new reviews in the April 1 issue of Booklist (The Walls around Us, by Nova Ren Suma, and Tiny Pretty Things, by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton). The following […]

The Latest Booklist: Spring Travel Roundup and Spotlight on Series Nonfiction

The Latest Booklist: Spring Travel Roundup and Spotlight on Series Nonfiction

The April 1 issue of Booklist magazine is now live. Visit Booklist Online, where you’ll find 233 new reviews and 9 new feature articles and lists. The articles will be free to all for the next two weeks—to have unrestricted access, you’ll need to log in. If you aren’t yet a subscriber, or do subscribe but haven’t […]