Book Lists

Series Read-alikes for Fans of Red Rising

Series Read-alikes for Fans of Red Rising

Morning Star, the third book in Pierce Brown’s Red Rising series, burst out of the publishing gates last month, reaching number one on the New York Times best-seller list. Imaginative readers are still clamoring for fast-paced, “what-did-we-get-ourselves-into?” dystopian adventures. Fortunately, there are plenty of other series for fans who enjoy seeing a flicker of hope in dark science-fiction landscapes. […]

10 Literary Inspirations for International Women’s Day

10 Literary Inspirations for International Women’s Day

Today, March 8, is International Women’s Day, a global celebration of the social, economic, cultural, and political achievements of women. The day also marks a call to action for accelerating gender parity. The women in these books are some of my favorites, exemplifying courage, conviction, and a willingness to speak their minds—whether in a whisper or a […]

Reviews of the Week: Lisa Jewell, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, Don DeLillo, and More

Reviews of the Week: Lisa Jewell, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, Don DeLillo, and More

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from February 29–March 4 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday February 29 The Girls in the […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Busting the Glass Ceiling: 23 Romances for Rule Breakers

Busting the Glass Ceiling: 23 Romances for Rule Breakers

Though women in historical romances tend to abide by the social mores and rules that govern their societies, they can also be very anachronistic. Whether Victorian England, the wilds of the American Frontier, or the banks of the Nile River, there are always rule breakers—women who decree that they will do what they want to […]

The 50 Weirdest YA Character Names Ever

The 50 Weirdest YA Character Names Ever

Before you gasp over the omission of S. E. Hinton’s Sodapop and Ponyboy (to say nothing of Huckleberry Finn)—relax, man! We can hardly remember what we read last week. And let’s stay aboard the Relaxation Express: the books on this list are mostly quite good, some of them outright great, but we’re going to poke fun at them anyway because […]

Reviews of the Week: Donna Leon, Maggie Stiefvater, Perri Camille, and More
By February 26, 2016 0 Comments Read More →

Reviews of the Week: Donna Leon, Maggie Stiefvater, Perri Camille, and More

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from February 22–26 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday February 22 The Waters of Eternal Youth, […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Diagram Prize Shortlist for Oddest Book Title Announced
By February 26, 2016 1 Comments Read More →

Diagram Prize Shortlist for Oddest Book Title Announced

Now in its 38th year, The Bookseller‘s Diagram Prize honors books, not for the strength of their content, but for the oddness of their titles (though that’s not to say the two are mutually exclusive). The prize’s administrator, Horace Bent, refers to this year’s shortlist as “one of the strongest in living memory.” Winners are […]

Posted in: Book Awards, Book Lists
8 Great Books to Pair with Your Favorite Podcasts
By February 25, 2016 0 Comments Read More →

8 Great Books to Pair with Your Favorite Podcasts

Podcast fans talk about their favorite radio shows with the same enthusiasm readers talk about their favorite books. The Kansas City Public Library and KCUR 89.3 have smashed the two formats together into one event, reBOUND, an annual book exchange and podcast party hosted by the Young Friends of the KCPL and Generation Listen KC. At […]

The Latest Booklist: ALA’s 2016 Best Lists and Spotlight on Women’s Fiction
By February 24, 2016 0 Comments Read More →

The Latest Booklist: ALA’s 2016 Best Lists and Spotlight on Women’s Fiction

The March 1 issue of Booklist magazine is now live. Visit Booklist Online, where you’ll find 236 new reviews and 10 new feature articles and lists. The articles will be free to all for the next two weeks—to have unrestricted access, you’ll need to log in. If you aren’t yet a subscriber, or do subscribe but haven’t […]

Reviews of the Week: Hope Jahren, Kate DiCamillo, Jill Lepore, and More
By February 19, 2016 0 Comments Read More →

Reviews of the Week: Hope Jahren, Kate DiCamillo, Jill Lepore, and More

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from February 15–19 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Tuesday February 16 Lab Girl, by Hope Jahren […]

Posted in: Book Lists