Book Lists

The Real Meaning of “Books for Youth”

The Real Meaning of “Books for Youth”

At Booklist we use the phrases “Adult Books” and “Books for Youth” to sort titles for old people from those for young ones. (That’s a tad over-simplified, but you get the idea.) It’s also how we define editors. (Kind of like the Sharks v. Jets but with less snapping.) When I first started at Booklist those terms […]

March 2015 LibraryReads
By February 16, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

March 2015 LibraryReads

Check out the March 2015 LibraryReads below, linked to Booklist reviews where available. Stayed tuned for Booklist reviews of Prudence, The Witch of Painted Sorrows, Cat out of Hell, and Delicious Foods, too! The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy, by Rachel Joyce (Favorite of Favorites) Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania, by Erik Larson […]

I Can Read Whatever I Want?!? A Sabbatical Reading List
By February 13, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

I Can Read Whatever I Want?!? A Sabbatical Reading List

We need to talk. You may want to sit down. Here, let me take your hand. Now listen. You know how I feel about you. This isn’t easy for me to say. But I am going on a sabbatical. For four months. Uh-oh. You’re crying. Please don’t cry. What’s four months? I’ll be back in […]

This Is Dedicated To: The One I Love
By February 13, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

This Is Dedicated To: The One I Love

In my first This Is Dedicated To post, I shared dedications to our favorite people: ourselves. Jokes aside this time, I’m sharing some true-love notes to authors’ real favorites. Valentine’s Day can be a frustrating holiday for reasons I don’t need to list, but let’s keep it all in perspective: before you get too bent […]

Graphic Novels That Make Black History Month Come Alive
By February 12, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

Graphic Novels That Make Black History Month Come Alive

This post first appeared Thursday, February 5, on American Libraries’ The Scoop. Black History Illustrated Need to refresh your Black History Month offerings? Here are some graphic novels, both fiction and nonfiction, that address black history in dynamic, engaging ways. Follow the links to read full reviews on Booklist Online. Adult Books Darkroom: A Memoir in Black […]

When Sustainability Is Just a Dream: Harrowing YA Climate Fiction
By February 11, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

When Sustainability Is Just a Dream: Harrowing YA Climate Fiction

Booklist‘s February 15 issue, which went live on Booklist Online earlier today, spotlights nonfiction books about sustainability and the environment. Climate change is obviously the dominant environmental issue of our time—yet, with its outcome ultimately unknown, is it any wonder we turn to fiction to imagine the future? With gripping plots and identifiable heroes, we may even […]

Posted in: Book Lists, Young Adult
Waiting for Harper Lee’s “Go Set a Watchman”? Try These Read-alikes for “To Kill a Mockingbird”
By February 10, 2015 1 Comments Read More →

Waiting for Harper Lee’s “Go Set a Watchman”? Try These Read-alikes for “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Sadly, there has been a backlash of sorts to the stunning announcement that a new Harper Lee novel, Go Set a Watchman, written before To Kill a Mockingbird but set later and subsequently lost, will be published in July 2015. Unconfirmed reports that the ailing Lee may not have been fully aware of what she […]

Rapture, Blister, Burn: A Tour de Feminism
By February 6, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

Rapture, Blister, Burn: A Tour de Feminism

It’s a pressing question: with the many freedoms engendered by women’s lib, how should women lead their lives? As homemakers, professionals, or both? As virgins, sluts, or . . .  ? In Rapture, Blister, Burn, now playing at the Goodman Theatre here in Chicago, there is little consensus. Directly discussing feminist theory (and showing an impressive display […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Too Cool for Boarding School: Nine Books for the Undersupervised

Too Cool for Boarding School: Nine Books for the Undersupervised

Precocious amateur PI, Flavia de Luce, returns in the seventh installment of Alan Bradley’s best-selling mystery series, As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust. Now a mature twelve-year-old, Flavia is sent to Miss Bodycote’s Female Academy in Canada. Naturally, trouble follows. From Jane Eyre to Harry Potter, boarding schools are great backdrops for exploring independence, self-discovery, […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Great Books for Children and Young Adults: Our Favorites from 2014

Great Books for Children and Young Adults: Our Favorites from 2014

It’s So Hard to Choose . . .  Cindy and Lynn: It’s that time again! We have to join the fray and list our favorite books of 2014. Some of these are surely award contenders, others are just personal favorites that we think are worthy of highlighting at year’s end. Some we blogged and some […]