Book Lists

July 2015 LibraryReads

July 2015 LibraryReads

July 2015 LibraryReads are here! Check out the ten titles below, linked to Booklist reviews where available. And if you haven’t already done so, be sure to register for Tuesday’s Booklist webinar “Library Love for Library Reads” here. Kitchens of the Great Midwest, by J. Ryan Stradal (Favorite of Favorites) Circling the Sun, by Paula McLain Kiss Me, by […]

Reviews of the Week

Reviews of the Week

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from June 8–12 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, June 8th Speak, by Louisa Hall In the near future, children, […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Sheroes: Female Superheroes Are Legion

Sheroes: Female Superheroes Are Legion

At this year’s ALA annual conference in San Francisco, I will be debuting a 200-plus book collection on female superheroes at the Children’s Plus booth. We at Children’s Plus hope that this list, titled Sheroes: Female Superheroes from Amelia to Zita!, will serve as a valuable shopping tool for our school and library customers looking to expand and diversify their […]

Reviews of the Week

Reviews of the Week

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from June 1–5 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, June 1st More Happy Than Not, by Adam Silvera A smiling […]

Posted in: Book Lists
All the Best Books Compilation: Short Stories

All the Best Books Compilation: Short Stories

Coverage of the top books of last year, as measured by the number of times a book was mentioned as a best book of the year or nominated for an award, continues today as I turn toward short stories. I’ll highlight the top five collections, then list some of the other books that came close. In […]

Stories within Stories: 8 Intriguing Nested Narratives

Stories within Stories: 8 Intriguing Nested Narratives

All right, all right, I’ll cop to it: I didn’t learn how to read until I was eight. In my defense, I had a good reason—or as good a reason as anyone can have for that kind of stubbornness—and it was that my parents read to me. There were the requisite picture-book years of course, […]

Posted in: Book Lists
All the Best Books Compilation: Historical Novels

All the Best Books Compilation: Historical Novels

In previous posts, I’ve introduced the All the Best Books Compilation, and highlighted the top crime and thriller novels that it identified for 2014. Let’s continue coverage by looking at which books were most often mentioned as a best book of the year in the historical fiction category. I’ll count down the top nine, those that […]

Reviews of the Week

Reviews of the Week

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from May 25–29 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, May 25th Badlands, by C. J. Box Box has been making […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Nine Read-alikes for To Kill a Mockingbird

Nine Read-alikes for To Kill a Mockingbird

With July just around the corner—well, maybe a corner and then another corner—the publishing date of Harper Lee’s Go Set a Watchman is drawing closer. As Bill Ott wrote in the Booklist Reader back in February, news that was initially greeted with giddy anticipation took a darker turn when questions began to arise about the manuscript’s […]

Mysteries of the Mad Men Era

Mysteries of the Mad Men Era

Those who aren’t ready to move on after saying goodbye to their friends at Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce may want to escape into other richly detailed tales of life in the swinging sixties and the confounding, wide-lapelled seventies. Series fans who were always looking for clues into the real Don Draper will enjoy putting the pieces together in these postmodern […]