Book Lists

Reviews of the Week: Richelle Mead, Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, Lisa Unger, and More

Reviews of the Week: Richelle Mead, Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, Lisa Unger, and More

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from March 21–25 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, March 21 Dictator, by Robert Harris, read […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Trapped in the Nest: 10 Tales of Family Dysfunction

Trapped in the Nest: 10 Tales of Family Dysfunction

One of this spring’s most buzzed about books is Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney’s The Nest. The four adult Plumb siblings are supposed to get their inheritance when the youngest one turns 40. Plans go awry when their mother uses it to bail their ne’er-do-well brother Leo out of another inebriated jam. Readers who relish reading about other families’ foibles […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Reviews of the Week: Nick Hayes, Trina Robbins, William Joyce, and More

Reviews of the Week: Nick Hayes, Trina Robbins, William Joyce, and More

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from March 14–18 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday March 14 The Dark Island, by Scott […]

Posted in: Book Lists
2015 National Book Critics Circle Award Winners

2015 National Book Critics Circle Award Winners

The National Book Critics Circle (NBCC) award winners for publishing year 2015 were announced at a ceremony in New York last night. NBCC, regarded as one of the most prestigious awards in the industry, recognizes excellence in six different categories every year. The titles are selected by a committee of editors, reviewers, and critics. The winners are […]

Seven Not-So Brief Biographies of Physicists

Seven Not-So Brief Biographies of Physicists

Many people celebrated Pi Day (3.14) with a slice of gooey pastry. Others paid homage to the scientists who proved that it’s all relative—and they’re not alone. Carlo Rovelli’s New York Times best-seller Seven Brief Lessons on Physics proves readers have an appetite for books that explore what we know, and how we know it, about matter and motion. American […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
April 2016 LibraryReads on Audio!
By March 14, 2016 0 Comments Read More →

April 2016 LibraryReads on Audio!

Every time a new LibraryReads list is published, we share the titles here on The Booklist Reader along with links to Booklist reviews. (Click here to see the April 2016 LibraryReads.) For those of you who prefer to listen rather than read, we now also hunt down the producers of the audio versions and provide the ordering […]

Posted in: Audiobooks, Book Lists
Reviews of the Week: Cassandra Clare, Faith Erin Hicks, Evie Wyld, and More

Reviews of the Week: Cassandra Clare, Faith Erin Hicks, Evie Wyld, and More

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from March 7–11 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday March 7 Save Room for Pie, by […]

Posted in: Book Lists
April 2016 LibraryReads

April 2016 LibraryReads

April 2016 LibraryReads are here! Check out the 10 April titles chosen by librarians below, linked to Booklist reviews where available. Don’t forget to register for our March 29 webinar, “Library Love for LibraryReads: Spring and Summer 2016,” where you’ll get a sneak peek of books you can read, share, and nominate for LibraryReads in the […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Series Read-alikes for Fans of Red Rising

Series Read-alikes for Fans of Red Rising

Morning Star, the third book in Pierce Brown’s Red Rising series, burst out of the publishing gates last month, reaching number one on the New York Times best-seller list. Imaginative readers are still clamoring for fast-paced, “what-did-we-get-ourselves-into?” dystopian adventures. Fortunately, there are plenty of other series for fans who enjoy seeing a flicker of hope in dark science-fiction landscapes. […]

10 Literary Inspirations for International Women’s Day

10 Literary Inspirations for International Women’s Day

Today, March 8, is International Women’s Day, a global celebration of the social, economic, cultural, and political achievements of women. The day also marks a call to action for accelerating gender parity. The women in these books are some of my favorites, exemplifying courage, conviction, and a willingness to speak their minds—whether in a whisper or a […]