Book Lists

Waiting for Harper Lee’s “Go Set a Watchman”? Try These Read-alikes for “To Kill a Mockingbird”
By February 10, 2015 1 Comments Read More →

Waiting for Harper Lee’s “Go Set a Watchman”? Try These Read-alikes for “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Sadly, there has been a backlash of sorts to the stunning announcement that a new Harper Lee novel, Go Set a Watchman, written before To Kill a Mockingbird but set later and subsequently lost, will be published in July 2015. Unconfirmed reports that the ailing Lee may not have been fully aware of what she […]

Rapture, Blister, Burn: A Tour de Feminism
By February 6, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

Rapture, Blister, Burn: A Tour de Feminism

It’s a pressing question: with the many freedoms engendered by women’s lib, how should women lead their lives? As homemakers, professionals, or both? As virgins, sluts, or . . .  ? In Rapture, Blister, Burn, now playing at the Goodman Theatre here in Chicago, there is little consensus. Directly discussing feminist theory (and showing an impressive display […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Too Cool for Boarding School: Nine Books for the Undersupervised

Too Cool for Boarding School: Nine Books for the Undersupervised

Precocious amateur PI, Flavia de Luce, returns in the seventh installment of Alan Bradley’s best-selling mystery series, As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust. Now a mature twelve-year-old, Flavia is sent to Miss Bodycote’s Female Academy in Canada. Naturally, trouble follows. From Jane Eyre to Harry Potter, boarding schools are great backdrops for exploring independence, self-discovery, […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Great Books for Children and Young Adults: Our Favorites from 2014

Great Books for Children and Young Adults: Our Favorites from 2014

It’s So Hard to Choose . . .  Cindy and Lynn: It’s that time again! We have to join the fray and list our favorite books of 2014. Some of these are surely award contenders, others are just personal favorites that we think are worthy of highlighting at year’s end. Some we blogged and some […]

A Dark Harvest for Kansas Day
By January 22, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

A Dark Harvest for Kansas Day

Cold Blood and Dark Places? I’ve a Feeling We’re in Kansas As Kansas natives, my husband and I have been known to befuddle our neighbors with Kansas Day parties that include crossword puzzles and Kansas-based Jeopardy games with clues about notable Kansans such as Langston Hughes, Buster Keaton, Zasu Pitts, Milton Stone (Doc on Gunsmoke), President […]

Dewey Know How to Run a Book Group? We Do! 350-400, Part 1
By January 13, 2015 1 Comments Read More →

Dewey Know How to Run a Book Group? We Do! 350-400, Part 1

The staff book group at Williamsburg Regional Library has been having a great time reading our way through the collection. In alternating months, we read fiction by an author whose surname begins with a selected letter (next month is G), and nonfiction from a different Dewey range. Each reader selects a title or two and […]

Posted in: Book Groups, Book Lists
Curl up with Cold Cases

Curl up with Cold Cases

Now, this list could be a pun because of the weather. Or, and in fact, it could be books that, like Michael Connelly’s current bestseller The Burning Room, feature long-unsolved cases at their core. Case Histories, by Kate Atkinson Cross, by James Patterson A Darker Domain, by Val McDermid The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
February 2015 LibraryReads

February 2015 LibraryReads

February LibraryReads are here! Check out the top ten titles for next month, chosen by participating librarians, below. Titles are linked to Booklist reviews where available. Click here to learn more about LibraryReads, and here to add your voice to the conversation. A Spool of Blue Thread, by Anne Tyler (Favorite of Favorites) A Touch of Stardust, by Kate Alcott […]

What Do You Resolve to Read This Year?
By January 1, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

What Do You Resolve to Read This Year?

Happy New Year! You’ve popped corks, kissed a stranger, struggled to find a cab, and slept until noon in your party clothes. Now that you’ve shaved your tongue and sworn off eight-dollar bottles of pink sparkling wine, it’s time to get serious about setting some goals for 2015. As a Booklist reader, it seems likely […]

Great Books for Book Groups: What We Discussed in 2014
By December 30, 2014 0 Comments Read More →

Great Books for Book Groups: What We Discussed in 2014

Our Book Group Buzz bloggers discussed over 100 books in 2014—not bad! From older books to newer books, from fiction to nonfiction, with even a few books for younger readers thrown in, they talked about (and shared their tricks for getting other people to talk about) a truly diverse array of titles. If you can’t find something here […]

Posted in: Book Groups, Book Lists