Book Lists

Up to No Good: YA Antiheroes We Love

Up to No Good: YA Antiheroes We Love

Forget the good guys—sometimes the best characters in YA books are bad. This list of YA antiheroes includes characters who lie, cheat, steal, and sometimes even kill people they love. From comical plots of villainous deeds, to darker stories of love and loss, these books all examine the line between good and evil, and what constitutes […]

Posted in: Book Lists, Young Adult
Carnegie Medal Read-alikes, 2015: The Nonfiction Shortlist

Carnegie Medal Read-alikes, 2015: The Nonfiction Shortlist

This feature appeared first on Booklist Online with the announcement of the Andrew Carnegie Medals Shortlist titles for 2015. With the announcement of the six shortlisted titles for the 2015 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Fiction and Nonfiction, librarians and library patrons will be scrambling to read all the finalists before the winners are announced on […]

Posted in: Book Awards, Book Lists
Carnegie Medal Read-alikes, 2015: The Fiction Shortlist

Carnegie Medal Read-alikes, 2015: The Fiction Shortlist

This feature appeared first on Booklist Online with the announcement of the Andrew Carnegie Medals Shortlist titles for 2015. This year’s finalists for the Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction carry readers into fully realized worlds embroiled in conflicts epic and intimate—from Occupied France to mid-twentieth-century Ireland to a decimated near-future America, in which sensitive […]

Posted in: Book Awards, Book Lists
Reviews of the Week

Reviews of the Week

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from March 30–April 3 below, so you can revisit the best of the week.   Monday, March 30th Billy’s Booger, by William Joyce and illustrated […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Summer Reading: At Last!

Summer Reading: At Last!

(To help you prepare for the outdoor reading season, each week we’re sharing a list from a different Booklist editor. —Ed.) For 30 odd years I’ve been putting books on a shelf in my office to read “someday.” Well, someday has arrived. I am cutting my Booklist hours significantly, leaving me at least some time to read what I […]

Picturing Poetry

Picturing Poetry

The combination of poetry and pictures has ancient roots, of course, but in our time, it shows up mostly in books published for children. But why should kids have all the fun? The eclectic list of titles below includes some of my favorite examples of how poetry can interact with artwork in surprising, beautiful ways, […]

Reviews of the Week

Reviews of the Week

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from March 23–27 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, March 23rd The Debtor Class, by Ivan G. Goldman This amazing […]

Summer Reading: To All the Books I’ve Loved Before

Summer Reading: To All the Books I’ve Loved Before

(To help you prepare for the outdoor reading season, each week we’re sharing a list from a different Booklist editor. —Ed.) One of the trickiest issues for all of us who share books in the library is how to promote our favorites. We know we can’t simply hand them out to everyone who asks for suggestions, […]

Dancing in the Dark: Recent YA Ballet Books

Dancing in the Dark: Recent YA Ballet Books

A year and a half ago, we collected a list of gritty teen dance narratives in “Read-alikes: First Position.” That trend is still going strong, as evidenced by two new reviews in the April 1 issue of Booklist (The Walls around Us, by Nova Ren Suma, and Tiny Pretty Things, by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton). The following […]

Posted in: Book Lists, Young Adult
Modern Fiction’s Most Memorable Fables

Modern Fiction’s Most Memorable Fables

Reviewers are hailing Kazuo Ishiguro’s new novel, The Buried Giant, as profound and magical. Since Aesop’s day (and probably before) we’ve been using fantastic stories to soft sell what is the most important to us. That tradition lives on in some of contemporary fiction’s most memorable fables.   The Alchemist, by Paolo Coelho The Cave, by Jose […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists