Book Lists

Reviews of the Week

Reviews of the Week

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from March 23–27 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, March 23rd The Debtor Class, by Ivan G. Goldman This amazing […]

Summer Reading: To All the Books I’ve Loved Before

Summer Reading: To All the Books I’ve Loved Before

(To help you prepare for the outdoor reading season, each week we’re sharing a list from a different Booklist editor. —Ed.) One of the trickiest issues for all of us who share books in the library is how to promote our favorites. We know we can’t simply hand them out to everyone who asks for suggestions, […]

Dancing in the Dark: Recent YA Ballet Books

Dancing in the Dark: Recent YA Ballet Books

A year and a half ago, we collected a list of gritty teen dance narratives in “Read-alikes: First Position.” That trend is still going strong, as evidenced by two new reviews in the April 1 issue of Booklist (The Walls around Us, by Nova Ren Suma, and Tiny Pretty Things, by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton). The following […]

Posted in: Book Lists, Young Adult
Modern Fiction’s Most Memorable Fables

Modern Fiction’s Most Memorable Fables

Reviewers are hailing Kazuo Ishiguro’s new novel, The Buried Giant, as profound and magical. Since Aesop’s day (and probably before) we’ve been using fantastic stories to soft sell what is the most important to us. That tradition lives on in some of contemporary fiction’s most memorable fables.   The Alchemist, by Paolo Coelho The Cave, by Jose […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Reviews of the Week

Reviews of the Week

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from March 16–20 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, March 16th Shopaholic to the Stars, by Sophie Kinsella, read by […]

Posted in: Book Lists
April 2015 LibraryReads

April 2015 LibraryReads

April 2015 LibraryReads are here! Check out the ten titles below, linked to Booklist reviews where available. At the Water’s Edge, by Sara Gruen (Favorite of Favorites) The Royal We, by Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan A Desperate Fortune, by Susanna Kearsley The Dream Lover, by Elizabeth Berg Still the One, by Jill Shalvis Inside the O’Briens, by […]

A Big-Top 10: High-Flying Circus Books for Kids

A Big-Top 10: High-Flying Circus Books for Kids

I’m not exactly sure when my fascination with the circus started. I never went as a child; I was more concerned with getting on Broadway than running away with Ringling. Still, over the past several years I’ve been drawn to the circus aesthetic—its daring, inherent otherness. I can pore over vintage posters, sideshow banners, and cabinet […]

Reviews of the Week

Reviews of the Week

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from March 9–13 below, so you can revisit the best of the week.   Monday, March 9th Falling in Love, by Donna Leon For many […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Do Not Disturb: Books with Bellhops

Do Not Disturb: Books with Bellhops

First Wes Anderson’s gorgeous film The Grand Budapest Hotel wins four academy awards. Now The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is climbing its way up the box office charts. Seems that hotels are the perfect place to have characters explore who they really are when the neighbors aren’t watching. Of course, novelists have known this for […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Reviews of the Week

Reviews of the Week

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from March 2–6 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, March 2nd Early Warning, by Jane Smiley Smiley continues the multigenerational, […]

Posted in: Book Lists