Book Lists

A Manual for Reading Women: Spectacular Short Stories

A Manual for Reading Women: Spectacular Short Stories

It’s big news when short story collections get major book buzz. And the story behind Lucia Berlin’s A Manual for Cleaning Women: Selected Stories is one worth repeating. Little known, but fiercely admired, Berlin published six collections of short stories before her death in 2004. Often compared to American great Raymond Carver, this compilation celebrates the work […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Reviews of the Week: Drew Daywalt, R. J. Palacio, Diana Nyad, and More
By August 28, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

Reviews of the Week: Drew Daywalt, R. J. Palacio, Diana Nyad, and More

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from August 24–28 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, August 24 The Day the Crayons Came […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Dark, Dark Read-alikes for “In a Dark, Dark Wood”

Dark, Dark Read-alikes for “In a Dark, Dark Wood”

I don’t know why we still read books that make us want to leave the lights on at night, lock all our doors, and interrogate our significant others about whether or not they’re really impostors living out a decades-long charade to make us slowly lose our minds—but the best-seller list doesn’t lie. The latest book […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Hip-Hop Is On Top: Beats-Based Books

Hip-Hop Is On Top: Beats-Based Books

From this summer’s blockbuster film Straight Outta Compton to last season’s must-see TV hit Empire, hip-hop is pop culture’s hottest playlist right now. Turn your readers on to these beats-based books.     And It Don’t Stop: The Best American Hip-Hop Journalism of the Last 25 Years, by Raquel Cepeda Beats, Rhymes, & Life: What We Love and […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Reviews of the Week: Margaret Atwood, Jack Gantos, Joyce Carol Oates, and More
By August 21, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

Reviews of the Week: Margaret Atwood, Jack Gantos, Joyce Carol Oates, and More

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from August 17–21 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, August 17 Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens […]

Even More Back-to-School Picture Books to Help Kids Feel Ready
By August 20, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

Even More Back-to-School Picture Books to Help Kids Feel Ready

For the August issue of Booklist, I pulled together a list of (mostly) recent back-to-school picture books in “That Back-to-School Feeling,” but it barely scraped the surface of what’s out there. So, guess what? I’ve got even more for you! Get out your #2 pencils—it’s time to take some notes! ABC School’s for Me!, by […]

Robot Overlords Redux: An AI for an AI

Robot Overlords Redux: An AI for an AI

In June, The Booklist Reader published Welcome, Robot Overlords! 12 Books to Help You Prepare for the Coming Singularity. Then, just a couple of weeks ago, over 1,000 artificial intelligence experts and leading researchers (Elon Musk, Steve Wozniak, and Stephen Hawking, to name a few) signed an open letter warning of a “military artificial intelligence […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
September 2015 LibraryReads

September 2015 LibraryReads

August 2015 LibraryReads are here! Check out the ten titles below, linked to Booklist reviews—several of them starred—where available. And look for Rebecca Vnuk’s review of Furiously Happy in the September 15th issue of Booklist. The Art of Crash Landing, by Melissa DeCarlo (Favorite of Favorites)   Make Me, by Lee Child House of Thieves, by Charles […]

Reviews of the Week: Michael Cart, Big Freedia, David McCullough, and More
By August 14, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

Reviews of the Week: Michael Cart, Big Freedia, David McCullough, and More

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from August 10–14 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, August 10th Top 250 LGBTQ Books for Teens: Coming Out, Being […]

Posted in: Book Lists
From Empty Mansions to the Berkeley Pit: The Environmental Legacy of a Great American Fortune
By August 12, 2015 1 Comments Read More →

From Empty Mansions to the Berkeley Pit: The Environmental Legacy of a Great American Fortune

My vacation in Montana was great, and so was my reading: a unpublished novel by my friend James Kennedy (The Order of Odd-Fish, 2008), an unnamed middle-grade novel for an award I’m judging, and Pete Dexter’s wonderfully earthy western, Deadwood (1986). Every time I looked up from the page, however, my wife, Marya, was engrossed in […]