Backlist

A Manual for Reading Women: Spectacular Short Stories

A Manual for Reading Women: Spectacular Short Stories

It’s big news when short story collections get major book buzz. And the story behind Lucia Berlin’s A Manual for Cleaning Women: Selected Stories is one worth repeating. Little known, but fiercely admired, Berlin published six collections of short stories before her death in 2004. Often compared to American great Raymond Carver, this compilation celebrates the work […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Dark, Dark Read-alikes for “In a Dark, Dark Wood”

Dark, Dark Read-alikes for “In a Dark, Dark Wood”

I don’t know why we still read books that make us want to leave the lights on at night, lock all our doors, and interrogate our significant others about whether or not they’re really impostors living out a decades-long charade to make us slowly lose our minds—but the best-seller list doesn’t lie. The latest book […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Hip-Hop Is On Top: Beats-Based Books

Hip-Hop Is On Top: Beats-Based Books

From this summer’s blockbuster film Straight Outta Compton to last season’s must-see TV hit Empire, hip-hop is pop culture’s hottest playlist right now. Turn your readers on to these beats-based books.     And It Don’t Stop: The Best American Hip-Hop Journalism of the Last 25 Years, by Raquel Cepeda Beats, Rhymes, & Life: What We Love and […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Robot Overlords Redux: An AI for an AI

Robot Overlords Redux: An AI for an AI

In June, The Booklist Reader published Welcome, Robot Overlords! 12 Books to Help You Prepare for the Coming Singularity. Then, just a couple of weeks ago, over 1,000 artificial intelligence experts and leading researchers (Elon Musk, Steve Wozniak, and Stephen Hawking, to name a few) signed an open letter warning of a “military artificial intelligence […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Rooms for Rent: Read-alikes for Kathleen Alcott’s Infinite Home

Rooms for Rent: Read-alikes for Kathleen Alcott’s Infinite Home

Buzz is building for Kathleen Alcott’s lyrical, second novel, Infinite Home. When Edith’s son tries to sell her apartment building, the eclectic tenants band together to save their home—and each other. Readers eager for more books about the bonds built between strangers will enjoy these other multistoried tales.   44 Scotland Street, by Alexander McCall Smith The […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Beyond The Little Paris Bookshop: More Books and Baked Goods for the Brokenhearted

Beyond The Little Paris Bookshop: More Books and Baked Goods for the Brokenhearted

While the sane ultimately concede that there’s no such thing as perfect, we all indulge in the occasional fantasy about the store clerk, librarian, or bartender who will look deep in our eyes and say, “Ah, yes. I know exactly who you are and what you need. Sit while I fetch the enchanted item that […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Mockingbird and More: The Literary Class of 1960

Mockingbird and More: The Literary Class of 1960

So, Harper Lee’s having kind of a big week, right? But she only wrote two books. And, they’re probably not on the shelf right now. Why not remind readers of the other works with remarkable staying power that were published or produced that year ? What a time to promote the Wayback List!  (Mockingbird/Green Eggs and Ham mashup, anyone?) […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Shark-Safe: 18 Beach Reads for the Landlubber

Shark-Safe: 18 Beach Reads for the Landlubber

If your readers prefer their beachside adventure books more domestic than deadly, steer them away from Shark Week—full steam ahead to these relationship-focused reads. These are “drown your sorrows” stories of love, lost and found, not “drown in the ocean while trying to escape a man-eating shark that has a vendetta against you and your […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Beyond Bunheads: Ballet Books for Everyone

Beyond Bunheads: Ballet Books for Everyone

Last week, Misty Copeland was promoted to principal dancer at the American Ballet Theater. Copeland is the first African-American woman to be named a principal in the company’s 75-year history. (She became a viral superstar with last year’s inspiring Under Armour commercial.) You may soon find all copies of her 2014 autobiography, Life in Motion: An Unlikely Ballerina, checked […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
Third Time’s the Charm: Winning Trilogies

Third Time’s the Charm: Winning Trilogies

If you like team contact sports played on ice, or if you simply live in Chicago, you are aware that the Chicago Blackhawks just won their third Stanley Cup in six seasons. With three, luxuriously long months of summer upon us, what better time to celebrate stories that go on and on and on.   All […]

Posted in: Backlist