Author Archive: Joyce Saricks

Joyce Saricks is Booklist's Audio Editor. In addition to overseeing audiobook coverage, she writes the column "At Leisure with Joyce Saricks." While listening to audiobooks, she enjoys her hobbies—cooking, walking, and traveling. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Joyce.

rss feed

Author's Website →

Diverting and Informative Audiobook Nonfiction for Summer Listening

Diverting and Informative Audiobook Nonfiction for Summer Listening

For decades, I read almost no nonfiction. Although I was tempted occasionally, it was always a slog. Then I discovered audiobooks, and they opened up a whole new world world. Now, when I check out ALA’s Notable Books or Carnegie medalists, I’m more likely to have read the nonfiction than the fiction titles. The audiobook […]

Posted in: Audiobooks
For Hot Summer Days, Try These Cold Cases on Audio

For Hot Summer Days, Try These Cold Cases on Audio

Cold cases are hot in crime writing today. This subgenre that unites fans of historical mysteries with those who appreciate the scientific methods and tools—from cell phones to DNA—of contemporary crime stories. Here are some recommended titles on audio, linked to their Booklist reviews.   Blacklight Blue, by Peter May, read by Simon Vance Enzo Macleod, […]

Posted in: Audiobooks
Poetry Unbound: Stories in Verse on Audio

Poetry Unbound: Stories in Verse on Audio

It is Poetry Month, and I have to confess that I’ve never really learned to appreciate poetry—at least not when I read it silently. Poetry, however, offers a new world of pleasures and opens up my imagination to an auditory play of cadence and words. In high school, I discovered stories in verse and plowed my way through Tennyson’s […]

Posted in: Audiobooks
Women Reading Women: Audiobooks that Celebrate Female Achievement

Women Reading Women: Audiobooks that Celebrate Female Achievement

Highlighting women from Supreme Court Justices to explorers to queens and more, books that celebrate women and their accomplishments abound, and many are also available on audio. Discover their stories while you commute, walk, shop, cook, or simply relax. Book of Ages: The Life and Opinions of Jane Franklin, by Jill Lepore, read by Robin Miles […]

Posted in: Audiobooks
The Best Longest Audiobooks Read by a Single (Likely Exhausted) Narrator
By February 24, 2017 0 Comments Read More →

The Best Longest Audiobooks Read by a Single (Likely Exhausted) Narrator

At one million words and 61 hours, Alan Moore’s Jerusalem tops the list of longest audiobooks—but don’t let that dissuade you from listening to it. Narrator Simon Vance’s informed reading makes Moore’s hallucinogenic style and provocative ideas intelligible. But not every narrator has the skill and energy required to make a lengthy book exceptional listening. These narrators do. […]

Posted in: Audiobooks
A Star-Studded Starvaganza of Star-Caliber Audiobooks Narrated by Stars
By February 15, 2017 0 Comments Read More →

A Star-Studded Starvaganza of Star-Caliber Audiobooks Narrated by Stars

The audiobook for George Saunders’ new novel, Lincoln in the Bardo, used an unprecedented 166 narrators—many of them celebrities—to tell an unconventional story of Abraham Lincoln morning his young son. (Mary Burkey interviewed Saunders and his production team to learn how it all came together.) But audiobooks narrated by a single celebrity narrators aren’t at all […]

Posted in: Audiobooks
The Year’s Midnight, and the Day’s: Winter Solstice Books
By December 21, 2016 0 Comments Read More →

The Year’s Midnight, and the Day’s: Winter Solstice Books

The Winter Solstice. In the northern hemisphere it marks the shortest day, and thus the longest night, of the year. The solstice has long been seen as a time of change and uncertainty—the perfect atmosphere for modern writers to set stories that reflect the chill of the haunting dark with murder and mayhem as well […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Get Ready for LA LA LAND with These Books about Musicals
By December 5, 2016 0 Comments Read More →

Get Ready for LA LA LAND with These Books about Musicals

Fans of musicals on stage and screen are cheering the recent New York Times headline, “‘La La Land’ Makes Musicals Matter Again.” And why not? What better antidote to hard times than the pleasure of singing (and possibly even dancing) along with hero and heroine on their way to better days? While we’re waiting to […]

Romance Unbound: Romantic Novels in Other Genres
By September 28, 2016 0 Comments Read More →

Romance Unbound: Romantic Novels in Other Genres

Some great love stories may not be classified as romances, even though they richly convey the same appeal. What’s more, many romantic novels in other genres are series, so readers are privy not only to the courtship and wedding, but also to the pleasures of living out the happily ever. These titles will get you started—and […]

Poldark’s Back on PBS Masterpiece: Read-Alikes for Winston Graham Fans
By September 23, 2016 4 Comments Read More →

Poldark’s Back on PBS Masterpiece: Read-Alikes for Winston Graham Fans

British drama Poldark returns to American airwaves on September 25, when its second season premieres on PBS’s Masterpiece. For a chance to win a CD of the unabridged audiobook Ross Poldark, the first novel in Winston Graham’s series upon which the first season of the show was based, leave a book recommendation of your own in the comments below. […]

Posted in: Books and Authors