Author Archive: Joyce Saricks

Joyce Saricks is Booklist's Audio Editor. In addition to overseeing audiobook coverage, she writes the column "At Leisure with Joyce Saricks." While listening to audiobooks, she enjoys her hobbies—cooking, walking, and traveling. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Joyce.

rss feed

Author's Website →

The Year’s Midnight, and the Day’s: Winter Solstice Books

The Year’s Midnight, and the Day’s: Winter Solstice Books

The Winter Solstice. In the northern hemisphere it marks the shortest day, and thus the longest night, of the year. The solstice has long been seen as a time of change and uncertainty—the perfect atmosphere for modern writers to set stories that reflect the chill of the haunting dark with murder and mayhem as well […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Get Ready for LA LA LAND with These Books about Musicals

Get Ready for LA LA LAND with These Books about Musicals

Fans of musicals on stage and screen are cheering the recent New York Times headline, “‘La La Land’ Makes Musicals Matter Again.” And why not? What better antidote to hard times than the pleasure of singing (and possibly even dancing) along with hero and heroine on their way to better days? While we’re waiting to […]

Romance Unbound: Romantic Novels in Other Genres

Romance Unbound: Romantic Novels in Other Genres

Some great love stories may not be classified as romances, even though they richly convey the same appeal. What’s more, many romantic novels in other genres are series, so readers are privy not only to the courtship and wedding, but also to the pleasures of living out the happily ever. These titles will get you started—and […]

Poldark’s Back on PBS Masterpiece: Read-Alikes for Winston Graham Fans

Poldark’s Back on PBS Masterpiece: Read-Alikes for Winston Graham Fans

British drama Poldark returns to American airwaves on September 25, when its second season premieres on PBS’s Masterpiece. For a chance to win a CD of the unabridged audiobook Ross Poldark, the first novel in Winston Graham’s series upon which the first season of the show was based, leave a book recommendation of your own in the comments below. […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
Audiobook Air Travel Escapes

Audiobook Air Travel Escapes

It’s summer, and it seems like lines at the airport have never been longer. We at Booklist have the perfect antidote to the frustrations of air travel: audiobooks! They’re a hands-free way to enjoy stories that help you escape the tedium at the airport and in the air. New titles and old fill the bill, so […]

Posted in: Audiobooks
May 2016 LibraryReads on Audio!

May 2016 LibraryReads on Audio!

Every time a new LibraryReads list is published, we share the titles here on The Booklist Reader along with links to Booklist reviews. (Click here to see the May 2016 LibraryReads.) For those of you who prefer to listen rather than read, we now also hunt down the producers of the audio versions and provide the ordering information […]

Posted in: Audiobooks, Book Lists
March 2016 LibraryReads on Audio!

March 2016 LibraryReads on Audio!

Every time a new LibraryReads list is published, we share the titles here on The Booklist Reader along with links to Booklist reviews. (Click here to see the March 2016 LibraryReads.) For those of you who prefer to listen rather than read, we now also hunt down the producers of the audio versions and provide the […]

Posted in: Audiobooks, Book Lists
January 2016 LibraryReads on Audio!

January 2016 LibraryReads on Audio!

Every time a new LibraryReads list is published, we share the titles here on The Booklist Reader along with links to Booklist reviews. (Click here to see the January 2016 LibraryReads.) For those of you who prefer to listen rather than read, we now also hunt down the producers of the audio versions and provide the ordering information […]

Posted in: Audiobooks
November 2015 LibraryReads on Audio!

November 2015 LibraryReads on Audio!

Every time a new LibraryReads list is published, we share the titles here on The Booklist Reader along with links to Booklist reviews. (Click here to see the November 2015 LibraryReads.) For those of you who prefer to listen rather than read, we now also hunt down the producers of the audio versions and provide the […]

Posted in: Audiobooks, Book Lists
Unreliable Narrators and Unlikeable People: 8 Killer Examples of Psychological Suspense

Unreliable Narrators and Unlikeable People: 8 Killer Examples of Psychological Suspense

What’s hot in fiction right now? Psychological suspense! Thanks to the phenomenal success of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, readers are clamoring for novels that take us inside the heads of unlikable characters in twisted stories of obsession and nightmarish situations. In my At Leisure column for October 1 Booklist (“Psychological Suspense, Horror’s Disturbing Sibling“), I […]