Booklist at ALA’s Annual Conference in Chicago

We here at Booklist don’t have to travel far for this year’s ALA Annual next week, since it’s going down right here at Chicago’s glorious McCormick Place. But we are going to be super busy, since we’ve got so much going on—some might say too much. Between events, catch us at booth #3217, where, in addition to free copies of Booklist and Book Links, we’ll be freaking out over #50YearsofYA. We’re creating a Booklist Locker Room where you can take a selfie with props. (Rumor has it we’ll have letter jackets and boomboxes.) We’ll announce who won free subscriptions from our “Love letters to YA” contest. We’re also away copies of our Top 50 YA Books of All Time poster, a special Penguin Young Readers’ poster for The Outsiders, 50 Years of YA temporary tattoos, and streaks of hair chalk. (Yes, hair chalk. If you don’t know what that is, head over to the booth and ask us.)

If you love your complimentary copy of our June 1 and 15 double issue, which includes the aforementioned Top 50 YA Books of All Time (among many other delights), we’ll be offering one-year, new subscriptions for 50% off—that’s a year of Booklist and Book Links, in print, digital, and online formats, for only $75. We’ll also have bade ribbons, buttons, and more!

And if you stop by our booth on Friday night, you can celebrate the Cubs World Series win with Booklist and Chicago publisher Triumph Books. We’ll be doing a Cubs book giveaway and handing out snacks like they’re going out of style. Take us out to the ballgame, why don’t you? Barring that, come to these events:


Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction Ceremony and Reception
Saturday, June 24, 8:00 – 10:00 PM, Location: Hilton Chicago, Grand Ballroom

In its sixth year, the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction are celebrated at ALA’s Annual Conference in Chicago. Join us for this celebratory event with featured speaker, Sara Paretsky, and a chance to mingle with the winning authors, Matthew Desmond and Colson Whitehead, during the dessert and drinks reception.


Michael L. Printz Program and Reception
Friday, June 23, 8:00 -10:00 PM, Location: Hyatt Regency Chicago, Grand AB

Come listen to the 2017 Michael L. Printz award-winning authors, John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell, and honor authors Louise O’Neill , Julie Berry, Neal Shusterman, and Nicola Yoon, who will speak about their writing. Followed by a reception.


Book Club Central
Saturday, June 24, 3:30- 4:30 McCormick Place, W375b/Skyline

This year’s ALA Annual Conference President’s Program will serve as the official launch of Book Club Central, an online platform of reading resources including book lists and other content of interest to book club leaders and participants. As Honorary Chair of Book Club Central, Sarah Jessica Parker will provide a selection of recommended titles to be featured on the site. Parker will appear at the President’s Program, where she will unveil her first “SJP Pick” and introduce the book’s author. Book Club Central is a joint project of ALA’s Public Awareness Office, Booklist, and United for Libraries.


#50YearsofYA Panel
Sunday, June 25, 2:00- 4:00 PM, Location: McCormick Place West, S103

Seven superstar YA authors gather to discuss “The Past, Present, and future of YA Books”. Panelists include Kristin Cashore (Bitterblue), Brandy Colbert (Little & Lion), Deborah Heiligman (Vincent and Theo), Daniel José Older (Shadowshaper), Neal Shusterman (Scythe), Megan Whalen Turner (Thick as Thieves), and Nicola Yoon (The Sun Is Also a Star).


Read N’ Rave
Monday, June 26, 10:30 – 11:30 AM, Location: McCormick Place, W179a

Hear several collection development specialists rave about their favorite titles gathered from the exhibit floor. Moderated by Rebecca Vnuk, Booklist’s Reference and Collection Management editor.


Meet the Author: Keir Graff
Monday, June 26 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM, Location: Exhibit Hall – Booth 3811

The Booklist executive editor will discuss The Matchstick Castle, his latest novel for middle-grade readers.


The 2017 Odyssey Awards
Monday, June 26, 3:00 – 4:00 PM, Location: McCormick Place, W184bc

This annual award is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States. Anna and the Swallow Man has won the 2017 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production.


Author Signings in the Booklist Booth (from seven top YA authors)

Peter Bognanni, Things I’m Seeing Without You (Saturday, 10:30 AM)

Paolo Bacigalupi, The Doubt Factory (Saturday, 12 PM)

Nicola Yoon, The Sun Is Also a Star (Saturday, 4 PM)

Maggie Stiefvater, All the Crooked Saints (Sunday, 9 AM)

Jason Reynolds, Long Way Down and The Boy in the Black Suit (Sunday, 10:30 AM)

Angie Thomas, The Hate U Give (Sunday, 11:30 AM) 

Deborah Heiligman, Vincent and Theo (Sunday, 4 PM)





About the Author:

Eugenia Williamson is the Associate Editor of Digital Products at Booklist. She worked in bookstores for twelve years, reviews books for The Boston Globe, and writes about books, culture, and politics for several other publications. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Genie.

Post a Comment