Five Novels about Literary Uncoupling for Fans of A SEPARATION

separation katie kitamuraKatie Kitamura’s second novel, A Separation, has been making the rounds as the next gotta-read-it title. (And I’ve spotted it more than a few times on the train lately.) It is no surprise, given the book’s intriguing details—missing spouse, a marriage besmirched by apparent indifference and frequent cheating—with Greece as their backdrop.

But then, literary uncoupling has always fascinated me. Oh sure, we can always plop down with a beach read (Hawkins, Flynn, Kubica: I’m looking at you), but these books embrace the tumultuous.

 

Days of Adandonment, by Elena Ferrante

Ever wondered what a Woody Allen-like movie relationship would look like in Italy? (No, not To Rome With Love.) Ferrante—you might have heard of her—takes on extreme infidelity with reckless abandon.

 

dept of speculation jenny offillDept. of Speculation, by Jenny Offill

Speaking of expectations, Offill inventories the entire history of a relationship utilizing a myriad of literary styles.

 

Fates and Furies, Lauren Groff

Relationship unbroken but complicated as hell. And let’s share the drama with others shall we?

 

The Futures, by Anna Pitoniak

futures anna pitoniakA recently released title that builds up the expectations of a once perfect coupling (always in Connecticut), only to have those hopeful ambitions crash into the reality that is Manhattan.

 

Identity, by Milan Kundera

I read this just out of college and really want to reread it. What struck me was how in-the-mind Kundera writes his characters. The result is beautiful as you take in every aspect of how a love affair crumbles.

 

 

 

Comments

comments

mruzicka@ala.org'

About the Author:

Michael Ruzicka, Office Manager, was raised in suburban Los Angeles, received a BA in Creative Writing/Poetry at UC Santa Cruz, then moved to Birmingham, AL, where he spent five years owning an independent bookstore and earned an MLIS. He has brought his librarian skills to Vanderbilt’s Television News Archive, Battle Ground Academy, The Museum of Contemporary Art-Chicago, and the Chicago School of Professional Psychology. Michael is very excited to be a part of Booklist and call Chicago his home.

Post a Comment