Covering the Dark is Rising

BookendsLynn and Cindy: When Cindy bought an updated box set of Susan Cooper’s The Dark is Rising Sequence (2013), it reminded us that we haven’t played the book cover game for quite a while. This classic¹ has had a wide array of different covers over the years, and our school collections contain several of them.

The 2013 box set cover and the covers of the books within it should appeal to fans of Riordan, McMann, Mull, Delaney and other popular, contemporary middle-grade fantasy authors:

Dark Is Rising by Susan Cooper

But here are two editions of The Dark is Rising from our own collection that don’t do a lot to attract today’s readers:

Dark is Rising collage
Here’s the quirky cover of a Puffin paperback that has a Lemony Snickett feel to it. This may be misleading to young readers:

Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper

Do you know of any updates about The Dark is Rising series? We’ve learned that there’s a new set of teacher guides in the works for this set. We’ll update here with a link and tweet it out when those become available. Follow Booklist on Pinterest for a Dark is Rising cover update collection there, coming soon. In the meantime, enjoy our posts about Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret and Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry.


  1. Lynn adds: This is one of my all-time favorite series. I love it with all my heart, re-read it often, and want to hear NO quibbles or criticisms about it. It is my opinion that this is a true foundation classic that every fantasy loving reader should have read. Period.



About the Author:

Cindy Dobrez and Lynn Rutan are Booklist reviewers and middle-school librarians who have chaired both ALA’s Best Books for Young Adults and the Michael L. Printz Award for YA Literature committees. Follow Bookends on Twitter at @BookendsBlog. You can also find Cindy at @cdobrez and Lynn at @482april.

Post a Comment