Two Novelists Win Wodehouse Prize

The Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Awards honors the year’s best comic novel. Last year, when it was still known simply as the Wodehouse, Alexander McCall Smith took home the prize for Fatty O’Leary’s Dinner Party and, as is tradition, had a Gloucestershire Old Spot pig named for him at the Hay-On-Wye Festival in Wales.

As was announced earlier this week, two new porcine namesakes are set to roam the Welsh countryside this year—one, the second-ever named for a woman and the other for the author of Skippy Dies. We’ve linked to the novels’ Booklist reviews. Click here for a full list of 2016 nominees.


improbability of love hannah rothschild

The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild


mark and the void paul murray

The Mark and the Void by Paul Murray





About the Author:

Eugenia Williamson is the Associate Editor of Digital Products at Booklist. She worked in bookstores for twelve years, reviews books for The Boston Globe, and writes about books, culture, and politics for several other publications. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Genie.

Post a Comment