Series Read-alikes for Fans of Red Rising

Shelf RenewalMorning Star, the third book in Pierce Brown’s Red Rising series, burst out of the publishing gates last month, reaching number one on the New York Times best-seller list. Imaginative readers are still clamoring for fast-paced, “what-did-we-get-ourselves-into?” dystopian adventures. Fortunately, there are plenty of other series for fans who enjoy seeing a flicker of hope in dark science-fiction landscapes.

Article 5, by Kristen Simmons (Article 5 trilogy)Morning Star

Bone Season, by Samantha Shannon (Bone Season series)

Brilliance, by Marcus Sakey (Brilliance saga)

Departure, by Neal Asher (Owner trilogy)

The Fire Sermon, by Francesca Haig (Fire Sermon series)

Gameboard of the Gods, by Richelle Mead (Age of X)

The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins (Hunger Games trilogy)

KOP, by Warren Hammond (KOP novels)

Midnight City, by J. Barton Mitchell (Conquered Earth novels)Hunger Games

Mind Stormby K.M. Ruiz (Strykers Syndicate)

Old Man’s War, by John Scalzi (Old Man’s War universe)

Pure, by Julianna Baggott (Pure trilogy)

Steelheart, by Brandon Sanderson (The Reckoners trilogy)

Wool, by Hugh Howey (The Silo series)



About the Author:

Karen Kleckner Keefe is the director of the Hinsdale (IL) Public Library, a Booklist reviewer, and one of Library Journal's 2009 "Movers and Shakers." Follow her on Twitter at @KarenKleckner.

Post a Comment