Backlist Read-Alikes for Movie Buffs

Shelf RenewalPop culture connoisseurs need look no further than their library to find books that match the mood and feel of what they’ve been watching on the big screen. From books about panda bears to dating, you can find it in the stacks.



For fans of Deadpoool’s violence and dark humor:deadpool

Beat the Reaper, by Josh Brazell

Peter Brown’s history as teenage hitman catches up to him at the hospital where he’s now working as an intern.

Pygmy, by Chuck Palahniuk

Palahniuk’s trademark sex and gore populate this tale of terrorists masquerading as exchange students.

You Suck, by Christopher Moore

Foul-mouthed vampires chomp their way through San Francisco.


For fans of How to Be Single and its take on dating:

Bridget Jones’s Diary, by Helen Fieldinghow to be single

Bridget struggles with self-confidence, cigarette dependency, wine consumption, and dating dilemmas.

Good in Bed, by Jennifer Weiner

Curvey Cannie Shapiro’s hook-up with an ex has unintended consequences.

Modern Romance: An Investigation, by Aziz Ansari and Eric Klinenberg

Comedian Ansari marries his observations about relationships with input from the experts.


kung fu panda 3For fans of Kung Fu Panda 3 and pandas:

Mr. Chas and Lisa Sue Meet the Pandas, by Fran Lebowitz

No Ling-Ling’s or Po’s here. Lebowitz’s New York pantry-dwelling pandas are named “Pandemonium” and “Don’t Panda to Public Taste.”



For fans of Zoolander 2 who want to take a further look at the modeling industry:

zoolander 2Adored, by Tilly Bagshawe

Scandal and heartbreak follow model-turned-actress Sienna McMahon.

Breaking the Rulesby Barbara Taylor Bradford

Audrey Hepburn doppelganger takes the London modeling scene by storm.

Model Student: A Tale of Co-Eds and Cover Girlsby Robin Hazelwood

Seventeen-year-old Emily Woods must choose between college and the call of the runway.

(Readers wanting a more subtle exploration of appearance and identity should check out After Dark, by Haruki Murakami; Look at Me, by Jennifer Egan; and Veronica, by Mary Gaitskill.)



About the Author:

Karen Kleckner Keefe is the director of the Hinsdale (IL) Public Library, a Booklist reviewer, and one of Library Journal's 2009 "Movers and Shakers." Follow her on Twitter at @KarenKleckner.

Post a Comment