2015 National Book Award Winners

Winners of the 2015 National Book Awards were announced last night at the annual ceremony in New York. Adam Johnson (Fortune Smiles) is no stranger to distinguished literary awards, as he won both the 2013 Pulitzer Prize for fiction and the 2013 Dayton Literary Peace Prize for his highly acclaimed novel The Orphan Master’s Son. Ta-Nehisi Coates (Between the World and Me) is a National Correspondent for The Atlantic where he often writes about racial issues faced by the African American community. Neal Shusterman (Challenger Deep) is a popular author of young adult fiction, most notably (until now, perhaps), the 2010 New York Times bestselling novel Bruiser. Poet Robin Coste Lewis (Voyage of the Sable Venus) is a Provost’s fellow in Poetry and Visual Studies at the University of Southern California and Cave Canem fellow. Her work has appeared in several journals, including the Massachusetts Review, VIDA, and The Harvard Gay & Lesbian Review.

The winner of each category is listed below, their work linked to its Booklist review where available.


Fiction Award

Fortune Smiles, by Adam Johnson

Nonfiction Award

Between the World and Me, by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Young People’s Literature Award

Challenger Deep, by Neal Shusterman

Poetry Award

Voyage of the Sable Venus, by Robin Coste Lewis



About the Author:

Allegra Wozniak served as a Booklist intern in fall 2015. She is a senior at Lake Forest College studying English literature and print and digital publishing. Besides reading, her favorite thing to do is eat Little Caesars breadsticks and watch the Mad Max movies with her dog, Mango.

Post a Comment