By October 19, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

2016 Andrew Carnegie Medals Shortlist Announced

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence - featured imageThe shortlist for the fifth Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction has just been announced! Check it out to see which titles are still under consideration for the American Library Association’s only single-title medal given to books for adults. The two medal winners will be announced by selection committee chair Nancy Pearl at the RUSA Book and Media Awards in Boston on Sunday, January 10.


2015 Carnegie fiction shortlist

The Book of Aron, by Jim Shepard (Knopf)

A Little Life, by Hanya Yanagihara (Doubleday)

The Sympathizer, by Viet Thanh Nguyen (Grove)



2015 Carnegie nonfiction shortlist

H Is for Hawk, by Helen Macdonald (Grove)

Hold Still: A Memoir with Photographs, by Sally Mann (Little, Brown)

The Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt’s New World, by Andrea Wulf (Knopf)


The shortlisted authors and eventual winners reflect the expertise of a seven-member selection committee of library professionals from across the country who work closely with adult readers. The annually appointed selection committee includes a chair (Nancy Pearl 2015–2016), one member of the American Booksellers Association, three Booklist editors or contributors, and three former members of RUSA CODES Notable Books Council. The committee members can be found here.

Annotations and more information on the finalists and the awards can be found here.



About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment