Rooms for Rent: Read-alikes for Kathleen Alcott’s Infinite Home

Shelf RenewalBuzz is building for Kathleen Alcott’s lyrical, second novel, Infinite Home. When Edith’s son tries to sell her apartment building, the eclectic tenants band together to save their home—and each other. Readers eager for more books about the bonds built between strangers will enjoy these other multistoried tales.


Infinite Home44 Scotland Street, by Alexander McCall Smith

The Book of Unknown Americans, by Cristina Henriquez

Broken for You, by Stephanie Kallos

Building Stories, by Chris Ware

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Apt. 3W, by Gabriel Brownstein

The Death of Vishnu, by Manil Suri

The Elegance of the Hedgehog, by Muriel Barbery

Kissing in Manhattan, by David Schickler

Life: A User’s Manual, by Georges Perec

Open House, by Elizabeth Berg

Skylight, by Jose Saramago

Tales of the City, by Armistead Maupin




About the Author:

Karen Kleckner Keefe is the director of the Hinsdale (IL) Public Library, a Booklist reviewer, and one of Library Journal's 2009 "Movers and Shakers." Follow her on Twitter at @KarenKleckner.

Post a Comment