Archive for August, 2015

Unfinished Business: Books to Be Read – and Books to Be Blogged About

Unfinished Business: Books to Be Read – and Books to Be Blogged About

Cindy: Summer might have a few more official weeks left in her, but I am back to work full time tomorrow and the students arrive after Labor Day. It’s my annual day of making lists of what I need to do—and stacks of what I need to read! Here’s a stack of books that still […]

Posted in: Bookends, Young Adult
Reviews of the Week: Drew Daywalt, R. J. Palacio, Diana Nyad, and More
By August 28, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

Reviews of the Week: Drew Daywalt, R. J. Palacio, Diana Nyad, and More

Every weekday we feature a different review on Booklist Online. These reviews are notable for different reasons—they may be starred, or high-demand, or especially relevant to the current issue’s spotlight. We’ve collected the reviews from August 24–28 below, so you can revisit the best of the week. Monday, August 24 The Day the Crayons Came […]

Posted in: Book Lists
The Vietnam War in Prose and Poetry

The Vietnam War in Prose and Poetry

Lynn: I graduated from college in 1970, so the Vietnam War and all the issues related to the conflict dominated the my late teens and twenties. It is only recently that books about this era are more prevalent for young readers, but I will admit to having had absolutely no interest in reading anything about […]

Book Trailer Thursday: The Story of Diva and Flea

If you, like many, can’t wait for the October release of the Mo Willems and Tony DiTerlizzi collaboration, The Story of Diva and Flea (Disney), here’s something to tide you over. For nine minutes, while they sit in a Northampton, Massachusetts bistrot, hear the two discuss their four-legged main characters, Parisian inspiration, and the hunt for […]

Dark, Dark Read-alikes for “In a Dark, Dark Wood”

Dark, Dark Read-alikes for “In a Dark, Dark Wood”

I don’t know why we still read books that make us want to leave the lights on at night, lock all our doors, and interrogate our significant others about whether or not they’re really impostors living out a decades-long charade to make us slowly lose our minds—but the best-seller list doesn’t lie. The latest book […]

Posted in: Backlist, Book Lists
The Latest Booklist: Spotlight on Sports
By August 26, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

The Latest Booklist: Spotlight on Sports

The September 1 issue of Booklist magazine is now live. Visit Booklist Online, where you’ll find 300 new reviews and 9 new feature articles and lists. The articles will be free to all for the next two weeks—to have unrestricted access, you’ll need to log in. If you aren’t yet a subscriber, or do subscribe but haven’t […]

Posted in: Inside Booklist
George, by Alex Gino: An Introduction to Young Transgender Life

George, by Alex Gino: An Introduction to Young Transgender Life

Cindy: I was in the middle of reading George (2015), by Alex Gino, when a rising sixth-grader visited my house. She saw the book on my table and exclaimed, “Oh, I love that book. It is sooooo good.” So I solicited a written review from Rachael King, daughter of Kalamazoo Public Library’s Kevin King, to […]

2015 Thurber Prize Finalists
By August 25, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

2015 Thurber Prize Finalists

Funny thing about book awards—they rarely honor books that make you laugh. For some reason, too many people believe humorous writing is incompatible with serious literary merit. In this man’s opinion, long-form humor is just about the hardest kind of writing to do well. (Right up there with picture books, but that’s another story.) Fortunately, the Thurber Prize for […]

Posted in: Book Awards, Book News
The Peter Temple Project: Identity Theory
By August 25, 2015 2 Comments Read More →

The Peter Temple Project: Identity Theory

Those who have seen previous installments of my Peter Temple Project may be forgiven for thinking I’ve abandoned it. When, last September, I announced my intention to read all the books by the Australian crime-fiction great, I had figured I’d wrap it up by May of this year—after all, with only nine novels to his name, Temple […]

The 2015 Hugo Awards (and No-Awards)
By August 24, 2015 1 Comments Read More →

The 2015 Hugo Awards (and No-Awards)

As has been well documented in the media, it’s been a turbulent and controversial year for the Hugo Awards. And when the winners were announced in Spokane, WA, this past Saturday, well—some of the awards had no winners. Why? Widespread unhappiness with the way the finalists had been selected triggered a surge in voting membership, with many […]

Posted in: Book Awards, Book News