Small Press Lineup: New Pulp Press

Some of the biggest crime fiction is perpetrated by some of the smallest players. We’re determined to shine the spotlight on them before they break out and wreak havoc across the whole country. Read them—before they publish again!



mugshot-jonathan-woodsLegal Name and Alias:

Jonathan “Deadeye” Woods, Editorial Director


Chuck “the Virus” Newman, Technical Director

Dahlia “Nightshade” Woods, Art Director

Jane “Spider-web” Rohrschneider, Webmaster

Criminal Record:

New Pulp Press is: “Genius masked as genre.” —New York Magazine

The Spinetingler Award-winning small press New Pulp Press was founded in 2008 by writer and entrepreneur Jon Bassoff as an alternative to the often generic world of conglomerate corporate publishing. Dedicated to giving voice to some of today’s most talented, original writers, New Pulp Press focuses on edgy crime fiction, post-modern noir and neo-pulp. Veering away from the assumption that a protagonist must be a sympathetic character, our books are centered around con-men, losers, and sociopaths. In other words, we represent what’s best about America.

In a Hardboiled Wonderland interview, Bassoff described New Pulp’s goal thusly: “I’m interested in books that leave behind some of the clichés of typical noir, books that might be described as post-modern. I hope our books are a little edgier, a little stranger than traditional noir. The crime fiction that gets me going respects the past, respects Chandler and Hammett and Cain, but also bends the genre in some way.”

Effective January 1, 2015, New Pulp Press was acquired by Jonathan Woods and Shirrel Rhoades. Jonathan Woods, Spinetinger Award-winning author of Bad Juju & Other Tales of Madness and Mayhem, the crime novel A Death in Mexico (recently compared by Booklist to Orson Welles’ A Touch of Evil) and the new collection Phone Call from Hell, serves as Editorial Director, bringing the same crazed noir sensibility and avant-garde outlook to the task as Jon Bassoff before him.

New Pulp Press publishes the most original voices in edgy crime fiction, neo-noir and neo-pulp. We’re not a big press, but we’re scrappy as hell.

Previous Offenses:

Kostoff-words-to-die-forWords to Die For, by Lynn Kostoff (2015)

Skull Fragments, by Tim L. Williams (2015)

Slow Down, by Lee Matthew Goldberg (2015)

The Forty-Two, by Ed Kurtz (2014)

The Last of the Smoking Bartenders, by C.J. Howell (2013)

Frank Sinatra in a Blender, by Matthew McBride (2012)

Currently Plotting:

ForeignersBring Me the Head of Yorkie Goodman, by Rowdy Yates (June 2015)

Kiss the Devil Good Night, by Jonathan Woods (August/September 2015)

Foreigners (Waeguk), by Mark Rapacz (October/November 2015)

No Tomorrow, by Jake Hinkson (January/February 2016)





About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment