2015 Indies Choice Book Awards Finalists

IndiesThe finalists for the American Bookseller Association’s (ABA) 2015 Indies Choice Book Awards and the E. B. White Read-Aloud Awards have been announced. If you’re a member of the ABA, you can now cast your vote. Voting ends April 14th and winners will be announced on April 16th. The Indies Choice Book Award represents the types of books indie booksellers champion best, while the E. B. White Read-aloud Awards recognize the qualities reflective of its namesake’s books: playfulness, well-paced language, engaging themes, and universal appeal to a wide range of ages. Click here to learn more about the awards. The finalists for both awards are below, with Booklist reviews linked when available:


Adult Fiction

All the Light We Cannot See book coverAll the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr

The Bone Clocks, by David Mitchell

The Magician’s Land, by Lev Grossman

The Museum of Extraordinary Things, by Alice Hoffman

Natchez Burning, by Greg Iles

Station Eleven, by Emily St. John Mandel


Adult Nonfiction

Being Mortal, by Atul GawandeBeing Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End, by Atul Gawande

Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant?, by Roz Chast

The Empathy Exams, by Leslie Jamison

In the Kingdom of Ice: The Grand and Terrible Polar Voyage of the USS Jeannette, by Hampton Sides

Just Mercy, by Bryan Stevenson

On Immunity: An Inoculation, by Eula Biss


Adult Debut

Forth of July CreekFourth of July Creek, by Smith Henderson

I Am Pilgrim, by Terry Hayes

The Martian, by Andy Weir

Painted Horses, by Malcolm Brooks

The Queen of the Tearling, by Erika Johansen

Shotgun Lovesongs, by Nickolas Butler


Young Adult

The Darkest Part of the ForestThe Darkest Part of the Forest, by Holly Black

Noggin, by John Corey Whaley

The Shadow Hero, by Gene Luen Yang and illustrated by Sonny Liew

Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel, by Sara Farizan

This One Summer, by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki

Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future, by A.S. King


Middle Reader

The BoundlessThe Boundless, by Kenneth Oppel and illustrated by Jim Tierney

Brown Girl Dreaming, by Jacqueline Woodson

The Fourteenth Goldfish, by Jennifer L. Holm

A Snicker of Magic, by Natalie Lloyd

The Terrible Two, by Mac Barnett and Jory John and illustrated by Kevin Cornell

The War That Saved My Life, by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley


Picture Book

Goodnight Already!, by Jory John and illustrated by Benji Davies

Goodnight Already!Kid Sheriff and the Terrible Toads, by Bob Shea and illustrated by Lane Smith

Last Stop on Market Street, by Matt de la Peña and illustrated by Christian Robinson

Sam and Dave Dig a Hole, by Mac Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen

The Smallest Girl in the Smallest Grade, by Justin Roberts and illustrated by Christian Robinson

This Is a Moose, by Richard T. Morris and illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld


Picture Book Hall of Fame

OliviaBlueberries for Sal, by Robert McCloskey

Eloise, by Kay Thompson and illustrated by Hilary Knight

Frog and Toad, by Arnold Lobel

If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, by Laura Numeroff and illustrated by Felicia Bond

Jumanji, by Chris Van Allsburg

Millions of Cats, by Wanda Gag

Olivia, by Ian Falconer

Strega Nona, by Tomi dePaola

Swimmy, by Leon Lionni

Sylvester and the Magic Pebble, by William Stieg

Tikki Tikki Tembo, by Arlene Mosel and illustrated by Blair Lent

Tuesday, by David Weisner


Indie Champion Award (links provided by ABA)

Authors United, represented by Douglas Preston (Hachette)

Neil Gaiman and Amanda Palmer (HarperCollins/Hachette)

Jeff Kinney (Abrams)

Dav Pilkey (Scholastic)

Garth Stein (Simon & Schuster, HarperCollins)

Richard Russo (Knopf/Vintage)




About the Author:

Sarah Grant is the Marketing Associate for Booklist. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Grant.

1 Comment on "2015 Indies Choice Book Awards Finalists"

Trackback | Comments RSS Feed

Inbound Links

  1. Reviews | Anthony Doerr | April 3, 2015

Post a Comment