By February 12, 2015 0 Comments Read More →

2015 Ezra Jack Keats Book Award Winners Announced

The 2015 Ezra Jack Keats award winners and honors have been announced! The awards are presented by the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation, in partnership with the de Grummond Children’s Literature Collection at the University of Southern Mississippi. The Ezra Jack Keats Foundation was founded by the Caldecott award-wining children’s book author and illustrator, Ezrea Jack Keats. The foundation fosters children’s love of reading by supporting the arts and literacy programs in public schools and libraries, and aims to cultivate new writers and illustrators of exceptional picture books, that reflect a diversity of childhood experiences. The foundation makes a commitment to emerging talent, by recognizing a new writer and new illustrator who have not had more than three picture books published.

Hana HashimotoWinner of the 2015 award for new writer:

Chieri Uegaki, for Hana Hashimoto, Sixth Violin


Honor winners for new writer:

Adam Auerbach, for Edda: A Little Valkyrie’s First Day of School

Alan Rabinowitz, for A Boy and a Jaguar

Misty Copeland, for Firebird


Shh! We Have a PlanWinner of the 2015 award for new illustrator:

Chris Haughton, for Shh! We Have a Plan


Honors winners for new illustrator:

Evan Turk, for Grandfather Gandhi

Mike Curato, for Little Elliot, Big City




About the Author:

Sarah Grant is the Marketing Associate for Booklist. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Grant.

Post a Comment