Cuba Libro: Bridging the Distance with Books

Shelf RenewalThis week, President Barack Obama announced that the United States would restore diplomatic relations with Cuba. Current event aficionados are likely to show a renewed interest in the Caribbean nation. Make them happy—give them books!

Cuba Libre, by Elmore Leonard
Days of Awe, by Achy Obejas
Dreaming in CubanDreaming in Cuban, by Cristina Garcia
Explosion in a Cathedral, by Alejo Carpentier
Loving Che, by Ana Menendez
Havana Bay, by Martin Cruz Smith
The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love, by Óscar Hijuelos
The Old Man and the Sea, by Ernest Hemingway
Our Man in Havana, by Graham Greene
Telex from Cuba, by Rachel Kushner
Waiting for Snow in Havana: Confessions of a Cuban Boy, by Carlos Eire

Want more? Check out Donna Seaman’s Read-alikes: Cuban Visions.

Comments

comments

About the Author:

Karen Kleckner Keefe is the director of the Hinsdale (IL) Public Library, a Booklist reviewer, and one of Library Journal's 2009 "Movers and Shakers." Follow her on Twitter at @KarenKleckner.

Post a Comment