By November 20, 2014 0 Comments Read More →

2014 National Book Award Winners

National Book AwardsThe winners of the National Book Awards were announced in a ceremony last night, November 19th. The winners exhibit a diversity of backgrounds and life experiences. Phil Klay, author of Redeployment, is a member of the National Book Foundation’s 5 under 35 Honorees. In 2003, he joined the Marines (and while in training he evidently memorized all of T. S. Eliot’s The Waste Land). Evan Osnos, author of Age of Ambition, lived in Beijing for eight years and is currently a staff writer at The New Yorker. Jacqueline Woodson, author of Brown Girl Dreaming, is a two time National Book Awards (NBA) finalist, and was a model for Alaga Syrup as a toddler. And Louise Glück, author of Faithful and Virtuous Night, has been an NBA finalist three previous times, has won a Pulitzer Prize, and was the twelfth Poet Laureate of the U.S. in 2003. The award recipients are below, with Booklist reviews linked when available:

NBA Winners In Post Pic

Fiction Award

Redeployment, by Phil Klay

Nonfiction Award

Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China, by Evan Osnos

Young People’s Literature Award

Brown Girl Dreaming, by Jacqueline Woodson

Poetry Award

Faithful and Virtuous Night, by Louise Glück




About the Author:

Sarah Grant is the Marketing Associate for Booklist. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Grant.

Post a Comment