By November 17, 2014 0 Comments Read More →

Macavity Award Winners 2014

Nominated and voted on by the members of Mystery Readers International, the Macavity Award is named for T. S. Eliot’s “mystery cat” in Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats—the winners were announced last Thursday night at Bouchercon in Long Beach, California. As noted in my Anthony Awards post, William Kent Krueger is on a terrific roll for Ordinary Grace. But Daniel Stashower deserves a shout-out, too, with his Macavity and Anthony wins forming a nice pair of bookends.

The Hour of PerilBest Mystery Novel

Ordinary Grace, by William Kent Krueger

Best First Mystery

A Killing at Cotton Hill, by Terry Shames

Best Mystery Short Story

“The Care and Feeding of Houseplants,” by Art Taylor (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, March/April 2013)

Best Nonfiction

The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War, by Daniel Stashower

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award

Murder as a Fine Art, by David Morrell



About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment