By November 17, 2014 0 Comments Read More →

Barry Award Winners 2014

Since 1997, the editors of Deadly Pleasures magazine have given their award for excellence in crime fiction, named for deceased fan reviewer Barry Gardner. The submission guidelines are as simple (send them the book and hope they review it) as the awards are idiosyncratic: while William Kent Krueger’s Ordinary Grace has won other awards, too, and Booklist calls Adrian McKinty’s I Hear the Sirens in the Street “crime fiction at its best,” the other two winners were unexpected. But different voices and surprise choices are exactly what make the annual crop of mystery awards so exciting. Wouldn’t it be boring if the all the writers who won the Edgar won everything else, too?

Sirens 1Best Novel

Ordinary Grace, by William Kent Krueger

Best First Mystery Novel

Japantown, by Barry Lancet

Best Paperback Original

I Hear the Sirens in the Street, by Adrian McKinty

Best Thriller

The Doll, by Taylor Stevens



About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment