By November 17, 2014 1 Comments Read More →

Anthony Award Winners 2014

Not 24 hours ago, the sun was kissing my cheeks, and now it’s biting them off—I just returned from Bouchercon in Long Beach, California. Amid the usual hubbub of panels and events, networking, professional development, and gossip, some of the year’s best mysteries and crime fiction were honored with Anthony Awards. The general sentiment seemed to be that William Kent Krueger’s win was not only deserved but probably inevitable, Ordinary Grace having already racked up an Edgar, a Barry, and a Macavity. There were a few grumbles that John Connolly’s short story was, despite its qualities, perhaps too long to qualify as short—and at least one observation that Joelle Charbonneau’s The Testing was science fiction, not crime fiction. But the attendees have spoken! And we offer our congratulations to the winners.

Ordinary GraceBest Novel

Ordinary Grace, by William Kent Krueger

Best First Novel

Yesterday’s Echo, by Matt Coyle

Best Paperback Original

As She Left It, by Catriona McPherson

Best Short Story

“The Caxton Private Lending Library & Book Depository,” by John Connolly

Best Critical or Nonfiction Work

The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot To Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War, by Daniel Stashower

The TestingBest Children’s or Young Adult Novel

The Testing, by Joelle Charbonneau

Best TV Episode Teleplay, First Aired in 2013

“The Blacklist – Pilot,” by Jon Bokenkamp

Best Audiobook

The Cuckoo’s Calling, by Robert Galbraith and narrated by Robert Glenister




About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

1 Comment on "Anthony Award Winners 2014"

Trackback | Comments RSS Feed

Inbound Links

  1. Macavity Award Winners 2014 : The Booklist Reader | November 17, 2014

Post a Comment