By November 17, 2014 0 Comments Read More →

2014 Shamus Award Winners

Thanks to the Coen brothers, I can’t hear the word shamus without hearing Jeff Lebowski’s confused reply to a private investigator (“I’m a brother shamus!” “Brother Seamus? Like an Irish monk?”)—but the Shamus Awards have been given by the Private Eye Writers of America since long before the Coens channeled Chandler in their own peculiar way. (That’s 1982, to be precise.) The award’s focus is evident in the name; reflecting the changing times, this marks the first year an award has been given for “Best Indie P.I. Novel.” It’s perhaps worth noting that the short-story winner was the only finalist not to be published in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine—as well as the fact that Sue Grafton accepted the award for series character on behalf of Kinsey Millhone, who was unable to attend.

Don't Dare A DameThe Hammer Award

Kinsey Millhone, by Sue Grafton

Best P.I. Novel

The Good Cop, by Brad Parks

Best P.I. Paperback Original

Heart of Ice, by P.J. Parrish

Best First P.I. Novel

Bear Is Broken, by Lachlan Smith

Best P.I. Short Story

“So Long, Chief,” by Max Allan Collins and Mickey Spillane (The Strand Magazine)

Best Indie P.I. Novel

Don’t Dare a Dame, by M. Ruth Myers



Posted in: Book Awards
Tags: ,

About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment