2014 Kirkus Prize Nominees

The finalists were announced yesterday for the first annual Kirkus Prize. The prize will be awarded for fiction, nonfiction, and young readers’ literature; six authors were longlisted in each category. The winners will be announced on October 23rd in Austin, Texas. The nominees are listed below, linked to Booklist reviews when available.



All Our NamesAll Our Names, by Dinaw Mengestu

The Blazing World, by Siri Hustvedt

Euphoria, by Lily King

Florence Gordon, by Brian Morton

The Paying Guests, by Sarah Waters

The Remedy for Love, by Bill Roorbach



The LagoonCan’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast

Capital in the Twenty-First Century, by Thomas Piketty, translated by Arthur Goldhammer

Jonathan Swift: His Life And His World, by Leo Damrosch

Just Mercy, by Bryan Stevenson

The Lagoon: How Aristotle Invented Science, by Armand Marie Leroi

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History, by Elizabeth Kolbert


Young Readers’ Literature

El DeafoAviary Wonders INC.: Spring Catalog and Instruction Manual, by Kate Samworth, illustrated by Kate Samworth

El Deafo, by Cece Bell

The Freedom Summer Murders, by Don Mitchell

The Key That Swallowed Joey Pigza, by Jack Gantos

The Right Word: Roget and His Thesauras, by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Sweet

The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim, by E.K. Johnson




About the Author:

Miriam Barajas served as a Booklist intern in fall, 2014.

Post a Comment