By September 17, 2014 0 Comments Read More →

2014 National Book Award Longlist for Poetry

On September 16th the Longlist for the National Book Foundation’s book award for Poetry was announced. The list consists of ten critically acclaimed American poets whose work was chosen out of the 219 books submitted for consideration. Each poet has been recognized with several prestigious poetry awards in the past. The finalists for the award will be announced October 15th on NPR’s Morning Edition, and the winners will be revealed on November 19th at the National Book Awards Ceremony and Benefit Dinner. Below are the longisted titles, linked to Booklist reviews when available.

Roget's Illusion

Roget’s Illusion, by Linda Bierds

A Several World, by Brian Blanchfield

Faithful and Virtuous Night, by Louise Glück

Gabriel: A Poem, by Edward Hirsch

Second Childhood, by Fanny Howe

ThSecond Childhoodis Blue, by Maureen N. McLane

The Feel Trio, by Fred Moten

Citizen: An American Lyric, by Claudia Rankine

The Road to Emmaus, by Spencer Reece

Collected Poems, by Mark Strand



About the Author:

Miriam Barajas served as a Booklist intern in fall, 2014.

Post a Comment